Portable gauges

Gauges are used in industries such as agriculture, construction and civil engineering to measure moisture and compaction levels in soil and asphalt density in paving mixes.

To do these measurements, two types of radiation are used in gauges: gamma (such as cesium-137) and neutron (such as americium-241/beryllium).

Portable gauge licensees must ensure that doses are kept as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA). The CNSC facilitates this by regulating the use of radiation devices, by assessing radiation protection programs, and by regularly inspecting licensees to ensure compliance with the regulations and licence conditions.

Portable gauge users must ensure that they safely conduct their work and comply with all applicable regulatory requirements. Their safety – as well as the safety of the public and the environment – depends at all times on a high level of radiation safety.

Gauge users must comply with the radiation protection program established by their employer, in accordance with regulatory requirements. Risks that may jeopardize the integrity, safety or security of gauges, safe operations or radiation detection instruments have to be duly considered and mitigated.

Each portable gauge must be either under the constant surveillance of a worker, or secured in a transport vehicle or at the storage location.

Tools/Resources

Listed here are some useful tools and resources that provide guidance on the safe handling and use of portable gauges:

Safety posters

Legislation

Services providers

Organizations that want to make related services available to portable gauge licensees can submit their contact information to the CNSC by filling out a service provider form. Information will be published on the CNSC website once received. The CNSC provides this information to licensees for information purposes only; it does not endorse or recommend any of the organizations listed.

View the list of service providers.

Additional CNSC resources

Need more information?

If you have any questions about portable gauges, email the CNSC or call 1-888-229-2672.

Date modified:

Jauges portatives

Les jauges portatives sont utilisées dans divers secteurs comme l’agriculture, la construction et le génie civil pour mesurer certains paramètres comme l’humidité ou la compaction du sol, ou encore la masse volumique des mélanges d’asphalte.

Pour que les mesures soient prises, deux types de rayonnement sont émis par ces jauges : le rayonnement gamma (p. ex. césium 137) et le rayonnement neutronique (p. ex. américium 241/béryllium).

Les titulaires de permis de jauges portatives doivent s’assurer que les doses sont maintenues au niveau le plus bas qu’il soit raisonnablement possible d’atteindre (principe ALARA). À cette fin, la CCSN réglemente l’utilisation des appareils à rayonnement en évaluant les programmes de radioprotection. La CCSN effectue aussi régulièrement des inspections chez les titulaires de permis pour s’assurer qu’ils se conforment aux règlements et aux conditions de leur permis.

Les utilisateurs de jauges portatives doivent travailler en toute sécurité et respecter toutes les exigences réglementaires applicables. Leur sécurité – tout comme celle du public et de l’environnement – dépend en tout temps d’une radioprotection de niveau supérieur.

Les utilisateurs de jauges portatives doivent respecter le programme de radioprotection établi par leur employeur, conformément aux exigences réglementaires. Les risques susceptibles de compromettre l’intégrité, la sûreté ou la sécurité des jauges portatives, des opérations sécuritaires ou des radiamètres doivent être dûment examinés et atténués.

Les jauges portatives doivent être constamment surveillées par un travailleur, placées en sûreté dans un véhicule ou bien entreposées.

Outils et ressources

Voici des outils et ressources utiles qui offrent des conseils sur la manipulation et l’utilisation sécuritaires des jauges portatives :

Affiches de sécurité

Législation

Fournisseurs de services

Les organisations qui souhaitent offrir leurs services aux titulaires de permis de jauges portatives peuvent fournir leurs coordonnées à la CCSN en remplissant un formulaire de fournisseur de services. Ces renseignements seront publiés sur le site Web de la CCSN dès leur réception. La CCSN ne fournit ces renseignements qu’à titre d’information; elle ne recommande ni n’appuie aucun des organismes énumérés.

Consulter la liste de fournisseurs de services.

Autres ressources de la CCSN

Pour en savoir plus

Si vous avez des questions sur les jauges portatives, envoyez un courriel à la CCSN ou composez le 1-888-229-2672.

Dernière mise à jour :