Licensing Process

The CNSC licensing process includes a thorough assessment of the application submission, and, if the licence is being renewed, a verification of the licensee's compliance performance. All licence applications are assessed based on the risk-ranking of the proposed licensed use-type. Read about the licensing and compliance tools that the CNSC uses.

A licence application goes through the following steps within the CNSC:

  1. entry into our electronic records system
  2. assessment for relevant cost-recovery fees, if applicable
  3. entry into our licensing database
  4. technical assessment by a Licensing Specialist
  5. quality assurance
  6. sign-off by a Designated Officer (if the application and the applicant meet all regulatory requirements)
  7. licence issued and mailed/faxed to licensee

New Licence Application

In order to obtain a Nuclear Substances and Radiation Devices licence, an application must be submitted to the CNSC. The CNSC will only issue a licence when the applicant:

  • is deemed qualified to carry on the activity that the licence will authorize
  • has demonstrated that they will protect the health and safety of persons and the environment
  • has demonstrated that they will maintain national security
  • has confirmed that they will adhere to international obligations to which Canada has agreed.

To apply for a licence, please consult the nuclear substances and radiation devices licence application guide (PDF), and fill out the corresponding nuclear substance and radiation device licence application form (PDF).

To view the costs associated with the licensing process, please refer to the CNSC's cost recovery program.

If the application received by the CNSC is complete, processing time could take up to eight weeks. Applicants will be contacted by the CNSC during the licence application review process and once a licence is issued.

Financial Guarantees

All licensees are responsible for safely carrying out the nuclear activities authorized under their licences, from the issuance of the licence up to and including safe termination of the licensed activities. A financial guarantee ensures there are funds available for the safe termination of licensed activities when the licensee is unable to carry this out. Starting in early 2015, licensees will be required to provide a financial guarantee to the CNSC.

Learn more about financial guarantees

Licence Renewal

Existing licensees follow the same process as new applicants when applying for licence renewals. The decision by the CNSC to renew a licence is based on the application information submitted, as well as a satisfactory compliance performance. The CNSC conducts a review of compliance information, such as a licensee's previous assessments, reported incidents and events, Annual Compliance Report (ACR) submissions, Type I inspections and Type II inspections results. Read more about the licensing and compliance tools that the CNSC uses.

If the application received by the CNSC is complete, processing time could take up to four weeks for a licence renewal. Applicants will be contacted by the CNSC during the licence renewal review process and once a licence is issued.

PLEASE NOTE: CNSC licences issued for nuclear substances and radiation devices can not have their term extended. The licence will expire on the date stated in the licence unless renewed, revoked or replaced.

Fill out a nuclear substance and radiation device licence application form

Licence Transfer

Under certain circumstances – as per the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), sections 24(2) and 24(4) – the CNSC may authorize the transfer of a licence from one licensee to another, or to a new licence applicant, provided there has been no significant change in the licensed activity. This process is intended to simplify the regulatory process for licensees, while ensuring that all regulatory requirements are met.

A request for licence transfer can be triggered by the following changes:

  • change to a corporation’s name and number
  • corporate merger
  • corporate restructuring

To request a licence transfer, the existing licensee must complete and submit an application form to their CNSC licensing officer including the following:

  • A copy of the new proof of legal status
  • The appropriate applicant authority form, including required photo identification
  • The request to appoint a new Radiation Safety Officer (RSO) form, with associated information, if there has been a change in RSO or applicant authority

Fill out a nuclear substance and radiation device licence transfer form.

Submitting an application

Before submitting a licence application to the CNSC, you must ensure:

  • the application form is complete and signed in all required locations as well as the relevant Application Authority form
  • all supporting documents are attached, clearly identified and cross-referenced
  • a copy of the Radiation Safety Manual (RSM) is included
  • proof of legal status is included, if the applicant is a corporation
  • the designated payment is enclosed, if subject to the CNSC Cost Recovery Fees Regulations

Submit by mail:
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
280 Slater Street
P.O. Box 1046, Station B
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5S9

Submit by fax: 613-995-5086

Submit by email: send a copy of your application form as an attachment to: forms-formulaires@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca.

PLEASE NOTE: The Applicant Authority form contains protected personal information and must be submitted by regular mail or by courier. Do not send the Applicant Authority form and proof of identification by e-mail.

Licence Amendment Requests

During the licence period, certain circumstances may require changes to the licence, and a request for amendment must be submitted. An amendment is a modification to an existing licence in order to change certain information. You are required to request an amendment if there is any change in your current regulatory program information, equipment, or licensed activities.

When requesting an amendment to an existing Nuclear Substances and Radiation Devices licence, the following details must be submitted along with the licence number:

  • changes to nuclear substances and/or radiation devices
  • changes to the location of use and/or storage
  • changes to personnel (licence contact information i.e. RSO Applicant Authority, alternative RSO, etc)
  • changes to policies, programs and procedures

In order to process a change in corporate name, a copy of a legal document showing the change, such as certificate of amendment, certificate of amalgamation, or certificate of incorporation, must be submitted to the CNSC with the licence amendment.

For changes to Applicant Authorities, the CNSC must be notified within 15 days in accordance with section 15 of the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations. Please fill out one of the following forms:

PLEASE NOTE: The Applicant Authority form contains protected personal information and must be submitted by regular mail or by courier.Do not send the Applicant Authority form and proof of identification by e-mail.

The CNSC must also be notified of changes made to radiation safety officers. Please fill out a radiation safety officer appointment form (PDF).

All requests for licence amendments must be made in writing by the licensee's designated signing authority. This can be done by fax (613-995-5086), or by contacting a CNSC Licensing Specialist at 1-888-229-2672.

Processing an amendment to a licence could take up to 3 weeks from the date a completed submission is received.

Revoking a licence

In order to revoke a licence, proof of decommissioning of the site or building must be submitted to the CNSC staff before the site or building can be released from regulatory control. The licensee must ensure that all nuclear substances and radiation devices have been removed, and that the contamination levels of the site or building do not exceed the limits specified on the licence. Licensees must submit documentation showing that any nuclear substances and radiation devices formerly in their possession have been received by another licensee who is authorized to possess these materials.

In order for an existing CNSC licence to be revoked, a licensee must submit a request for revocation (PDF). Once the CNSC determines the information is complete, the licence will be revoked and a letter confirming the revocation will be sent to the licensee.

See the CNSC's decommissioning check list (PDF) to ensure you are following the right steps.

CNSC Licensing and Compliance Tools

CNSC's Risk Informed Regulatory Program specifies that activities with the greatest risk profile will receive the greatest regulatory oversight. The following tools allow the CNSC to monitor and verify compliance with the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), its regulations and the licence conditions:

  1. Application Assessment (Desktop Reviews)
    The CNSC reviews all information provided in the application to ensure compliance with the NSCA and the regulations.This stage includes the review of a new licence application, an amendment request or a renewal application.
  2. Annual compliance report (ACR)
    Licensees are required to submit annual reports of the activities they performed. Examples of items to report in the ACR include:
    • Transfers, purchase, disposal of nuclear substances and radiation devices
    • Dosimetry information
    • Inventory
    • Changes in the radiation protection program

    Annual compliance reports allow licensees to self-report, and allows the CNSC to monitor routine compliance indicators. ACR forms for your usetype can be downloaded for submission.

  3. Type I inspections
    Type I inspections (also known as audit) are in-depth examinations of a licensee's processes and operations, and typically occur at the licensee's operational site(s). Compliance verification is done through direct observations of work activities, a comprehensive review of procedures and records, and staff interviews. This type of inspection will include the participation of several CNSC staff members, who may be on-site for a period of several days. At the end of the inspection, the licensee is presented with the preliminary findings, and a complete report is sent to the licensee within 60 days of the inspection. The licensee is given a list of non-compliances found, and must provide timelines for addressing these findings. Should something be found during the inspection that is an imminent threat to health, safety, or the environment, the NSCA provides inspectors with the power to immediately order cessation of these activities.
  4. Type II inspections
    A Type II inspection is an on-site snapshot of the licensee's operations. These inspections are typically shorter than Type I, since extensive interviews are not performed, and data is collected mainly through direct observations, measurements, and reviews of on-site records. At the end of the inspection, the licensee is presented with a preliminary report, and a complete report is sent to the licensee within 30 days of the inspection. The licensee is given a list of non-compliances found, and must provide timelines for addressing these findings. Should something be found during the inspection that is an imminent threat to health, safety, or the environment, the NSCA provides inspectors with the power to immediately order cessation of these activities.

    View examples of Type II inspection worksheets:

Contact Us

For licensees:

If you have any questions relating to licensing issues, such as licence amendments, annual compliance reporting, or disposal of nuclear substances and radiation devices, contact your Licensing Specialist at 1-888-229-2672. You can also send an email to licence-permis@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca.

For non-licensees:

If you are not a current CNSC licensee, contact the CNSC general information line at 1-800-668-5284. You can also send an email to info@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca.

Processus d’autorisation

Le processus d’autorisation de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) comporte une évaluation approfondie de la demande et, dans le cas d’une demande de renouvellement, une vérification du rendement du titulaire de permis en matière de conformité. Toutes les demandes de permis font l’objet d’une évaluation selon la cote de risque du type d’utilisation proposé. Renseignez-vous sur les outils d’autorisation et de conformité qu’utilise la CCSN.

Voici les étapes du traitement d’une demande de permis à la CCSN :

  • inscription dans notre système de dossiers électroniques
  • évaluation des droits de recouvrement des coûts applicables, s’il y a lieu
  • saisie dans notre base de données de permis
  • évaluation technique par un spécialiste des permis
  • assurance de la qualité
  • approbation par un fonctionnaire désigné (si la demande et le demandeur satisfont toutes les exigences réglementaires)
  • délivrance et envoi du permis au demandeur, par la poste ou par télécopieur

Demande de permis

Pour obtenir un permis de substances nucléaires et d’appareils à rayonnement, le demandeur doit présenter une demande à la CCSN. Celle-ci ne délivrera un permis au demandeur que s’il satisfait aux conditions suivantes :

  • il est jugé compétent pour exercer l’activité visée par le permis
  • il a démontré qu’il préserverait la santé et la sécurité des personnes et protégerait l’environnement
  • il a démontré qu’il maintiendrait la sécurité nationale
  • il a confirmé qu’il respecterait les obligations internationales du Canada

Pour présenter une demande de permis, veuillez consulter le REGDOC-1.6.1, Guide de présentation d'une demande de permis : Substances nucléaires et appareils à rayonnement : (REGDOC-1.6.1 HTML) (REGDOC-1.6.1 PDF) et remplissez le formulaire de demande de permis pour substances nucléaires et appareils à rayonnement (PDF) correspondant.

Pour connaître les coûts associés au processus d’autorisation, veuillez consulter le programme de recouvrement des coûts de la CCSN.

Si la demande de permis envoyée à la CCSN est complète, son traitement pourra prendre jusqu’à 80 jours ouvrables. La CCSN communique avec le demandeur lorsqu’elle examine la demande de permis et lorsqu’elle a délivré un permis.

Garanties financières

Tous les titulaires de permis sont responsables d’exécuter leurs activités nucléaires autorisées en toute sûreté, conformément à leur permis, à partir de la délivrance du permis jusqu’à la cessation sécuritaire des activités autorisées. Les garanties financières permettent de garantir qu’il y a suffisamment de fonds pour la cessation sécuritaire des activités autorisées dans les situations où le titulaire de permis est en défaut et n’est pas en mesure d’effectuer une cessation sécuritaire. Les titulaires de permis doivent fournir une garantie financière à la CCSN.

Apprenez-en plus sur les garanties financières pour les substances nucléaires et les appareils à rayonnement

Apprenez-en plus sur les garanties financières pour les installations et l’équipement réglementé de catégorie II

Renouvellement du permis

Lors du renouvellement de leur permis, les titulaires suivent le même processus que pour leur demande de permis initiale. La CCSN fonde sa décision de renouveler ou non un permis sur les renseignements contenus dans la demande et sur le rendement du titulaire de permis en matière de conformité. La CCSN effectue un examen des renseignements sur la conformité, comme les évaluations précédentes du titulaire de permis, les incidents et les événements signalés, les RAC présentés et les résultats des inspections de type I et de type II. Pour en savoir davantage, consultez les outils d’autorisation et de conformité qu’utilise la CCSN.

Si la demande de renouvellement du permis envoyée à la CCSN est complète, son traitement pourra prendre jusqu’à quatre semaines. La CCSN communiquera avec le demandeur durant le processus d’examen de la demande de renouvellement du permis et lorsqu’elle aura délivré un permis.

Remarque : La durée des permis de substances nucléaires et d’appareils à rayonnement de la CCSN ne peut être prolongée. Le permis expirera à la date qui y est indiquée à moins qu’il ne soit renouvelé, révoqué ou remplacé.

Remplir un formulaire de demande de permis pour substances nucléaires et appareils à rayonnement.

Transfert de permis

Dans certaines circonstances – en vertu des paragraphes 24(2) et 24(4) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) – la CCSN peut autoriser un transfert de permis d’un titulaire à un autre, ou encore à un nouveau demandeur de permis, à condition qu’aucun changement important n’ait été apporté à l’activité autorisée. Ceci vise à simplifier le processus réglementaire pour les titulaires de permis, tout en veillant au respect de toutes les exigences réglementaires.

Une demande de transfert de permis peut être faite à la suite des changements suivants :

  • changement du nom ou du numéro d’une entreprise
  • fusion d’entreprise
  • restructuration d’entreprise

Pour faire une demande de transfert de permis, le titulaire de permis actuel doit remplir et présenter un formulaire de demande à son agent des permis de la CCSN. Sa demande doit inclure :

  • une copie de la nouvelle preuve du statut légal
  • le formulaire «Responsable de la demande» approprié, y compris une copie d’une pièce d’identité avec photo
  • le formulaire de demande pour nommer un nouveau responsable de la radioprotection (RRP), avec les renseignements connexes, s’il y a un changement de RRP ou de responsable de la demande

Veuillez remplir un formulaire de transfert de permis de substances nucléaires et d’appareils à rayonnement.

Présentation d’une demande

Avant de présenter une demande de permis à la CCSN, assurez-vous de joindre ce qui suit :

Par la poste :
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
280, rue Slater
C.P. 1046, succursale B
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 5S9

Par télécopieur : 613-995-5086

Par courriel.

Remarque : Le formulaire du responsable de la demande contient des renseignements personnels protégés et doit être envoyé à la CCSN par courrier ordinaire ou par messager. N’envoyez ni le formulaire du responsable de la demande ni la preuve d’identité du demandeur par courriel. 

Demandes de modifications de permis

Durant la période de validité d’un permis, certaines circonstances peuvent exiger que des modifications soient apportées à ce dernier, auquel cas une demande de modification doit être présentée. Une modification est un changement apporté à certains renseignements figurant sur un permis existant. Vous devez présenter une demande de modification pour tout changement aux renseignements concernant votre programme d’application de la réglementation, votre équipement ou vos activités autorisées.

Pour demander une modification à un permis de substances nucléaires et d’appareils à rayonnement, le titulaire de permis doit fournir le numéro du permis ainsi que des renseignements sur les changements touchant :

  • les substances nucléaires ou les appareils à rayonnement
  • les lieux d’utilisation ou de stockage
  • le personnel (coordonnées des personnes-ressources, c.-à-d. le responsable de la radioprotection, le responsable de la demande, le remplaçant du responsable de la radioprotection, etc.)
  • les politiques, les programmes et les procédures

Avant de traiter une modification au nom d’une personne morale, la CCSN doit recevoir une demande de modification de permis, accompagnée d’une copie d’un document juridique attestant du changement de nom, tel qu’un certificat de modification, un certificat de fusion ou un certificat de constitution en personne morale.

En vertu de l’article 15 du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, la CCSN doit être avisée dans les 15 jours de tout changement apporté aux responsables de la demande. Veuillez remplir un des formulaires suivants :

Remarque : Le formulaire du responsable de la demande contient des renseignements personnels protégés et doit être envoyé à la CCSN par courrier ordinaire ou par messager. N’envoyez ni le formulaire du responsable de la demande ni la preuve d’identité du demandeur par courriel. 

La CCSN doit également être informée des modifications apportées aux responsables de la radioprotection. Le cas échéant, veuillez remplir une demande de désignation d’un nouveau responsable de la radioprotection (PDF).

Toutes les demandes de modifications de permis doivent être présentées par écrit par le signataire autorisé désigné par le titulaire de permis. Ces demandes peuvent être faites par télécopieur (613-995-5086) ou en communiquant avec un spécialiste des permis de la CCSN (1-888-229-2672).

Le traitement d’une modification de permis peut prendre jusqu’à trois semaines à compter de la date de réception de la demande dûment remplie.

Révocation d’un permis

Avant qu’un permis soit révoqué, une preuve de déclassement du site ou du bâtiment doit être envoyée au personnel de la CCSN pour que le site ou le bâtiment puisse être libéré du contrôle réglementaire. Le titulaire de permis doit veiller à ce que toutes les substances nucléaires et tous les appareils à rayonnement soient retirés du site ou du bâtiment, et que les niveaux de contamination du site ou du bâtiment ne dépassent pas les limites indiquées dans le permis. Les titulaires de permis doivent soumettre des documents prouvant que les substances nucléaires et les appareils à rayonnement qui étaient en leur possession ont été reçus par un autre titulaire de permis autorisé à les posséder.

Pour faire révoquer un permis de la CCSN, un titulaire de permis doit présenter une demande de révocation (PDF). Lorsque la CCSN juge que la demande est complète, le permis est révoqué et une lettre de confirmation de la révocation est envoyée au titulaire de permis.

Consultez la liste de vérification de la CCSN pour le déclassement (PDF).

Outils d’autorisation et de conformité de la CCSN

Le programme de réglementation fondé sur la connaissance du risque de la CCSN stipule que les activités au profil de risque le plus élevé feront l’objet d’une plus grande surveillance réglementaire. Les outils mentionnés ci-dessous permettent à la CCSN de vérifier la conformité avec la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), ses règlements et les conditions de permis :

  1. Évaluation de la demande (examen des documents)
    La CCSN examine tous les renseignements fournis dans la demande pour s’assurer de leur conformité à la LSRN et aux règlements. Cette étape concerne l’examen d’une demande de permis, d’une demande de modification ou d’une demande de renouvellement.
  2. Rapport annuel de conformité (RAC)
    Les titulaires de permis sont tenus de présenter des rapports annuels sur les activités qu’ils exercent. Voici des exemples d’éléments qu’ils doivent déclarer dans le RAC :
    • transfert, achat, évacuation des substances nucléaires et des appareils à rayonnement
    • information de dosimétrie
    • inventaire
    • modifications au programme de radioprotection

    Les rapports annuels de conformité donnent l’occasion aux titulaires de permis de s’autoévaluer et permettent à la CCSN de surveiller les indicateurs de conformité courants. Vous pouvez télécharger les formulaires du RAC pour le type d’utilisation qui vous concerne.

  3. Inspections de type I
    Les inspections de type I (aussi appelées vérifications) sont des examens approfondis des processus et des activités du titulaire de permis. Elles sont généralement menées sur les lieux d’exploitation du titulaire. La vérification de la conformité s’effectue par l’observation directe des activités, un examen poussé des procédures et des dossiers, ainsi que des entretiens avec le personnel. Ce type d’inspection requiert la participation de plusieurs membres du personnel de la CCSN, qui peuvent être sur place pendant quelques jours. À la fin de l’inspection, les constatations préliminaires sont présentées au titulaire de permis, et un rapport complet lui est transmis dans les 60 jours suivant l’inspection. Le titulaire de permis obtient une liste des éléments non conformes qui ont été relevés, après quoi il doit fournir un échéancier des mesures qu’il prévoit prendre pour corriger la situation. La CCSN donne aux inspecteurs le pouvoir légal d’ordonner l’arrêt immédiat des activités advenant la constatation au cours de l’inspection d’une menace imminente à la santé, à la sûreté ou à l’environnement.
  4. Inspections de type II
    Une inspection de type II fait le bilan sur place des activités du titulaire de permis. Elle est habituellement plus courte que l’inspection de type I, car on ne procède pas à des entretiens en profondeur, et les données sont recueillies principalement par des observations directes, des mesures et des examens des dossiers conservés sur place. À la fin de l’inspection, le titulaire de permis obtient un rapport préliminaire, puis il reçoit un rapport complet dans les 30 jours suivant l’inspection. Il obtient une liste des éléments non conformes qui ont été relevés, après quoi il doit fournir un échéancier des mesures qu’il prévoit prendre pour corriger la situation. La CCSN donne aux inspecteurs le pouvoir légal d’ordonner l’arrêt immédiat des activités advenant la constatation au cours de l’inspection d’une menace imminente à la santé, à la sûreté ou à l’environnement.

    Consulter des exemples de fiches d’inspection de type II :

Contactez-nous

Titulaires de permis

Pour toute question liée aux permis, y compris celles touchant aux modifications de permis, aux rapports annuels de conformité et à l'évacuation des substances nucléaires et des appareils à rayonnement, communiquez avec votre spécialiste des permis en composant le 1-888-229-2672 ou en envoyant un courriel.

Autres :

Si vous n’êtes pas un titulaire de permis de la CCSN, n’hésitez pas à utiliser notre ligne de renseignements généraux au 1-800-668-5284 ou à nous envoyer un courriel à info@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca.