Licensing: Nuclear substances and radiation devices

In Canada, the possession and use of nuclear substances and radiation devices are regulated by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) in accordance with the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), its associated regulations and CNSC licences. Nuclear substances and radiation devices account for about 2 500 of the CNSC licences and are widely used in medicine, research and teaching, with the majority issued for a variety of industrial applications.

Search Licensee Database.

Nuclear substances

The possession, use, transfer, import, export, abandonment and storage of nuclear substances must be licensed by the CNSC when the amount of nuclear substance involved is greater than its exemption quantity. See Schedule 1 of the Nuclear Substances and Radiation Devices Regulations for a complete list of nuclear substances.

Learn more about the licensing process for nuclear substances licensing process for radiation devices.

Radiation devices

The possession, use, transfer, import, export, servicing, abandonment and storage of radiation devices must be licensed by the CNSC when the amount of nuclear substances contained within the radiation device reaches 10 times the exemption quantity.

Learn more about the licensing process for nuclear substances licensing process for radiation devices.

Before you are licensed to possess and use radiation devices, you must ensure that the radiation devices you intend to possess are certified by the CNSC. All radiation devices that contain more than the exemption quantity of a nuclear substance are required to be certified by the CNSC prior to their use in Canada.

Learn more about certifying a radiation device.

See the current list of CNSC certified radiation devices (PDF).

Sealed sources

Sealed sources are nuclear substances in a sealed capsule or cover that prevents the dispersion of the substance. The possession and movement of high-risk sealed sources are monitored by the CNSC.

Read more about sealed source tracking.

Log in to the sealed source tracking system (SSTS).

Import/export of nuclear substances and radiation devices

The activities of importing and exporting nuclear substances and radiation devices can be authorized under a nuclear substances and radiation devices licence provided they do not appear on the list of controlled nuclear substances and equipment. If the substances and devices appear on the list, a separate CNSC licence is required.

The authorization to import or export can be added to the NSRD licence upon receipt of a licence amendment request from the licensee along with the proper justification. To clarify whether or not an export or import licence is required, you may contact your licensing specialist at 1-888-229-2672 or send an email to the CNSC.

Read more about the import and export of controlled substances, or see the Nuclear non-Proliferation Import and Export Control Regulations.

Exempted activities

The possession of certain nuclear substances and radiation devices does not require a licence provided that they meet specific criteria. The regulations list a number of exemptions, including those related to smoke detectors, tritium safety signs and devices containing radium luminous compounds. Refer to the regulations below to determine if you need to apply to the CNSC for a licence.

Usetypes

There are about 60 different types of licences (called usetypes) that can be issued for nuclear substances and radiation devices. Examples of usetypes include:

  • the manufacturing of nuclear substances and radiation devices
  • industrial radiography
  • diagnostic nuclear medicine procedures and therapeutic nuclear medicine
  • x-ray fluorescence metal detection
  • the various uses of fixed and portable radiation devices

To find out more about usetypes and learn which ones apply to you, see Appendix B of the Licence Application Guide: Nuclear Substances and Radiation Devices (REGDOC-1.6.1) (PDF) or feel free to contact us.

Reporting an emergency

In the event of an emergency involving a nuclear facility, radioactive materials, nuclear substances or radiation devices, please contact the CNSC Duty Officer emergency telephone line: 613-995-0479.

For more information, please see Report a Nuclear Incident.

Frequently asked questions

Read our frequently asked questions about nuclear substances and radiation devices.

Additional documentation and information

Regulatory documents

Forms

Information documents

Legislation

Service providers

Service-providing organizations who wish to make their services available to licensees can submit their contact information to the CNSC by filling out a service provider form. Information will be published on the CNSC website once received. The CNSC will not endorse or recommend any of the organizations listed but provides them to licensees for information purposes only.

View the list of service providers.

Contact us

The CNSC is committed to providing you with a website that respects your privacy. The personal information on this form is required if you would like the CNSC to contact you with regard to your inquiry and/or comments. Please see our Privacy Act statement for more information.

Please fill out this form in order to contact the CNSC. Alternately, the CNSC can be reached at 1-888-229-2672.

Contact form for nuclear substances and radiation devices


Please fill in the following form to submit a request to CNSC related to nuclear substances and radiation devices.

Note: Please ensure that you are not providing any personal or sensitive information in this section.

Autorisation : Substances nucléaires et appareils à rayonnement

Au Canada, la possession et l’utilisation de substances nucléaires et d’appareils à rayonnement sont réglementées par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) conformément à la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et ses règlements connexes, ainsi qu’aux permis de la CCSN. La CCSN gère environ 2 500 permis de substances nucléaires et d’appareils à rayonnement qui sont couramment utilisés en médecine, en recherche et en enseignement, la majorité de ces permis étant délivrée pour une variété d’applications industrielles.

Voir la base de données des permis d'utilisation de substances nucléaires et d'appareils à rayonnement.

Substances nucléaires

La possession, l’utilisation, le transfert, l’importation, l’exportation, l’abandon et le stockage des substances nucléaires doivent être autorisés par la CCSN lorsque la quantité de substances nucléaires concernée est supérieure à la quantité d’exemption. Consultez l’annexe 1 du Règlement sur les substances nucléaires et les appareils à rayonnement pour une liste complète des quantités d’exemption pour les substances nucléaires.

Renseignez-vous davantage sur le processus d’autorisation pour les substances nucléairesprocessus d’autorisation pour les appareils à rayonnement.

reference c1Appareils à rayonnement

La possession, l’utilisation, le transfert, l’importation, l’exportation, l’entretien, l’abandon et le stockage des appareils à rayonnement doivent être autorisés par la CCSN lorsque ces derniers contiennent une quantité de substances nucléaires qui atteint 10 fois la quantité d’exemption.

Renseignez-vous davantage sur le processus d’autorisation pour les substances nucléairesprocessus d’autorisation pour les appareils à rayonnement.

Avant d’être autorisé à avoir en votre possession et à utiliser des appareils à rayonnement, vous devez vous assurer qu’ils sont homologués par la CCSN. Tous les appareils à rayonnement qui contiennent des substances nucléaires en quantité supérieure à la quantité d’exemption doivent être homologués par la CCSN avant leur utilisation au Canada.

Renseignez-vous davantage sur l’homologation d’un appareil à rayonnement.

Consultez la liste à jour des appareils à rayonnement homologués par la CCSN (PDF).

Sources scellées

Les sources scellées sont des substances nucléaires enfermées dans une enveloppe scellée ou munie d’un revêtement empêchant leur dispersion. La possession et le déplacement des sources scellées à risque élevé font l’objet d’un suivi par la CCSN.  

Renseignez-vous davantage sur le suivi des sources scellées.

Accédez au système de suivi des sources scellées (SSSS).

Importation et exportation des substances nucléaires et des appareils à rayonnement

Un permis de substances nucléaires et d’appareils à rayonnement peut autoriser son titulaire à importer et à exporter des substances nucléaires et des appareils à rayonnement, pourvu qu’ils ne figurent pas sur la liste des substances et de l’équipement nucléaires contrôlés. Si les substances et appareils à rayonnement figurent sur cette liste, un permis distinct doit être obtenu auprès de la CCSN.

L’autorisation d’importer ou d’exporter peut être ajoutée au permis de substances nucléaires et d’appareils à rayonnement (SNAR) à la réception d’une demande de modification de permis et de la justification appropriée par le titulaire de permis. Pour plus de précisions sur les circonstances exigeant un permis d’importation ou d’exportation, vous pouvez communiquer avec votre spécialiste des permis au 1‑888‑229‑2672 ou envoyer un courriel à la CCSN.

Renseignez-vous davantage sur l’importation et l’exportation des substances contrôlées ou consultez le Règlement sur le contrôle de l’importation et de l’exportation aux fins de la non-prolifération nucléaire.

Activités exemptées

La possession de certaines substances nucléaires et de certains appareils à rayonnement n’exige pas de permis, pourvu que ces substances et appareils respectent des critères bien précis. Le Règlement sur les substances nucléaires et les appareils à rayonnement présente une liste d’exemptions, dont celles liées aux détecteurs de fumée, aux panneaux de sécurité au tritium et aux appareils contenant un composé lumineux au radium. Consultez les articles suivants du Règlement pour déterminer si vous devez demander un permis à la CCSN.

Types d’utilisation

La CCSN délivre près de 60 types de permis (appelés types d’utilisation) pour les substances nucléaires et les appareils à rayonnement. Voici des exemples de types d’utilisation :

  • fabrication de substances nucléaires et d’appareils à rayonnement
  • gammagraphie industrielle
  • procédures de médecine nucléaire diagnostique et thérapeutique
  • détection de métaux par fluorescence des rayons X
  • différentes utilisations d’appareils à rayonnement fixes et portatifs

Pour obtenir plus de détails sur les types d’utilisation et savoir celui qui s’applique à vos activités, consultez l’annexe B du Guide de présentation d’une demande de permis : Substances nucléaires et appareils à rayonnement (REGDOC-1.6.1 ).

Signalement d’une urgence

En cas d’urgence liée à une installation nucléaire, à des matières radioactives, à des substances nucléaires ou à des appareils à rayonnement, veuillez appeler la ligne téléphonique d’urgence de l’agent de service de la CCSN : 613‑995‑0479.

Pour plus de détails, veuillez consulter la rubrique intitulée Comment signaler un incident.

Foire aux questions

Consultez la foire aux questions concernant les substances nucléaires et les appareils à rayonnement.

reference c2Documents et renseignements supplémentaires

Documents d’application de la réglementation

Formulaires

Documents d’information

Lois

Fournisseurs de service

Les organismes fournisseurs de services qui souhaitent offrir leurs services aux titulaires de permis peuvent soumettre leurs coordonnées à la CCSN en remplissant ce formulaire. La CCSN affichera cette information sur son site Web, mais elle offrira ces renseignements aux titulaires de permis à titre informatif seulement. La CCSN n’appuiera ni ne recommandera aucun des organismes énumérés.

Voir la liste des fournisseurs de services

Contactez‑nous

La CCSN fait bon accueil à vos questions, observations, suggestions et réactions. La CCSN s’engage à respecter le droit à la vie privée des visiteurs du présent site Web. Veuillez fournir les renseignements personnels demandés dans le formulaire qui suit si vous voulez que la CCSN communique avec vous au sujet de votre demande et de vos commentaires. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter l’énoncé de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Veuillez remplir le formulaire ci‑dessous et l’acheminer à la CCSN.  Vous pouvez aussi contacter la CCSN au 1‑888‑229‑2672

Substances nucléaires et appareils à rayonnement


S'il vous plaît remplir le formulaire ci-dessous pour soumettre une demande à la CCSN concernant les substances nucléaires et les appareils à rayonnement.

Note : Veuillez vous assurer de ne pas fournir de renseignements personnels ou sensibles dans cette section.