Licensing of Class II nuclear facilities

Requirements for the licensing of Class II nuclear facilities are prescribed by the Class II Nuclear Facilities and Prescribed Equipment Regulations, as well as the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations and the Radiation Protection Regulations.


Class II nuclear facility licences

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) may only issue a licence to a Class II nuclear facility when:

  • the Commission considers the applicant to be qualified
  • the applicant has made adequate provision for the protection of the environment and the health and safety of persons
  • the applicant otherwise meets the requirements prescribed by the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA) and its regulations.

There are four categories of Class II nuclear facility licences:

Licence to construct

If you wish to construct a Class II nuclear facility in Canada, you must first obtain a Licence to construct. An application for a licence to construct is assessed to ensure:

  • the applicant has control of the site upon which the Class II nuclear facility will be built
  • the facility design is in compliance with the requirements prescribed by the NSCA and its regulations

The facility design must take into account the safety and security of the public, as well as environmental considerations. Note that a licence to construct does NOT authorize the licensee to possess nuclear substances or produce radiation.

Licence to operate

Before possessing nuclear substances or producing radiation, you must first obtain a licence to operate. Licences to operate are separated into two categories:

1. Licence to operate for the purpose of commissioning
Licensees in this category can operate Class II prescribed equipment for the purposes of confirming the robustness of their facility design and for ensuring that all associated safety systems are functioning properly. Licensees must report back to the CNSC on their findings and provide satisfactory test results. Note that medical facilities with this type of licence may NOT use the prescribed equipment for patient treatment.

2. Licence for routine operation
Once the licensee has demonstrated to the CNSC that the facility is operating as expected, that it has properly trained staff and that all safety systems are in place and functional, a licence for routine operation can be issued. This allows the prescribed equipment to be operated for its intended purpose without restriction but still within the confines of the NSCA, its regulation and any licence conditions that have been imposed.

Licence to decommission

Applicants for a licence to decommission are required to demonstrate that any Class II nuclear facility under their supervision will be properly dismantled, with particular care taken to ensure proper handling and disposal of radioactive substances.

Licence to service

In order to perform servicing activities in Canada, a licence to service must be obtained. There are two categories of service licences:

  • Licence to service (by operator) – allows operators of Class II nuclear facilities to have their own in-house servicing staff. Servicing operations may only be carried out at facilities owned by the operator.
  • Licence to service (third party) – allows entities such as prescribed equipment manufacturers or independent servicing companies to service prescribed equipment, typically throughout Canada.

Before receiving a licence to service, applicants must demonstrate that they have the correct expertise in terms of equipment operation and maintenance, as well as radiation safety.

Licence application guides and forms

In order to apply for a licence, please fill out the appropriate form below.

Table: Licence application guides and forms
Licence category Licence application guide Licence application form Applicable
usetype(s)

License to construct, operate and decommission the following facilities:

  • medical linear accelerator
  • radioactive-source teletherapy machine
  • remote brachytherapy afterloader (except decommissioning)

RD/GD-120: Licence Application Guide Radiotherapy (HTML / PDF)

Radiotherapy Application Form (PDF)) 521, 522, 523, 524, 525, 541, 542, 551, 552, 554, 555, 560, 561
License to service any Class II prescribed equipment

RD/GD-207: Licence application guide, Service Class II Prescribed Equipment (HTML / PDF)

Service Class II prescribed equipment application form (PDF) 565, 566
Licence to construct, operate and decommission a Class II Non-Radiotherapy Accelerator Facility

RD/GD-289 Version 2: Licence application guide, Class II Non-radiotherapy Accelerator Facilities (HTML / PDF)

Licence application form – Class II Non-radiotherapy accelerator facilities(PDF) 515, 516, 517, 518, 519, 520

If the licence application guide or form for your desired usetype is not present in the table above, contact your licensing officer or contact the CNSC.

Changes to licences

If you wish the Commission to amend, revoke or replace a licence, you must make your request in writing and provide any additional information required regarding your request. The request should be made by contacting your licensing officer.

Representatives of applicants and licensees

Pursuant to paragraph 15(a) of the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations, every applicant and licensee must notify the Commission of persons who have authority to act for them in their dealings with the Commission. These dealings may include licence applications, amendments and revocations, reporting to the Commission as required by the regulations or licence, and responding to notices of non-compliance. Statements and representations made by a representative of an applicant or licensee are binding on the applicant or licensee. The Representatives of Applicants and Licensees form must be completed and submitted for new licensees or upon any change in the licensee's representatives.

Licence Transfer

Under certain circumstances – as per the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), sections 24(2) and 24(4) – the CNSC may authorize the transfer of a licence from one licensee to another, or to a new licence applicant, provided there has been no significant change in the licensed activity. This process is intended to simplify the regulatory process for licensees, while ensuring that all regulatory requirements are met.

A request for licence transfer can be triggered by the following changes:

  • change to a corporation’s name and number
  • corporate merger
  • corporate restructuring

To request a licence transfer, the existing licensee must complete and submit an application form to their CNSC licensing officer, including a copy of the new proof of legal status. If there is a change to current RSO, an application for certification of the proposed candidate is required with supporting information, in order to process the transfer application.

Fill out a Class II licence transfer form.

Exempted activities

The Class II Nuclear Facilities and Prescribed Equipment Regulations also exempt certain activities from licensing requirements. For Class II nuclear facilities, the following activities may be carried out without a licence:

  • site preparation for a facility
  • construction, operation, modification, decommissioning or abandonment of a facility that consists of a geophysical logging accelerator
  • decommissioning of a facility that consists of a brachytherapy remote afterloader

A person may possess, transfer or produce Class II prescribed equipment without a licence as long as it does not contain any nuclear substances.

Financial guarantees

A financial guarantee is a tangible commitment by a licensee that there will be sufficient resources to safely terminate licensed activities authorized under all CNSC-issued licences for nuclear substances, prescribed equipment and Class II facilities. Failure to properly terminate licensed activities can result in risk to the health and safety of persons and the environment. A financial guarantee does not relieve licensees from complying with regulatory requirements for termination of licensed activities, but ensures there are funds available when licensees are unable to carry out safe termination.

Usetypes

The CNSC categorizes various licensed equipment and activities into what are known as “usetypes”. A usetype is a single licensed activity or type of equipment in a particular stage of licensing.

In most cases, only one usetype may appear on a particular licence. A cancer treatment centre operating medical particle accelerators, remote brachytherapy aferloaders and with servicing personnel on staff is said to have three separate usetypes and a separate licence must be obtained for each. Usetypes are defined by the licensing stage of the prescribed equipment; a particle accelerator in the routine operation phase is a different usetype than a particle accelerator that is in the decommissioning phase. 

Consolidated licensing

Some common usetypes related to radiation therapy can be consolidated into a single usetype. There are many advantages to consolidated licensing, including reduced paperwork throughout the licensing cycle and a 10-year renewal period (most current radiation therapy licences have five-year renewal periods).

Read more about consolidated licensing.

Licence turnaround times

When a licence application is received at the CNSC, it goes through the following steps:

  1. entry into our electronic records system
  2. assessment for relevant fees, if applicable
  3. entry into our licensing database
  4. technical assessment by a licensing officer
  5. quality assurance
  6. sign-off by a designated officer
  7. licence issued and mailed/faxed to licensee

The chart below shows the typical time it takes to perform the technical assessment of a licence application. The timelines assume that the application received was complete, and that no further clarification was needed on the information submitted. If the CNSC receives an incomplete application, the processing time will restart from the date the updated information is obtained.

Table: Licence turnaround times
Licence type Processing time*
Construction eight weeks
Commissioning six weeks
Servicing six weeks
Routine operation two weeks
Decommissioning two weeks
Licence amendments Varies depending on scope

* NOTE: Please add two weeks to each of the above timelines to account for administrative tasks, fee processing, etc.

Licensing and compliance decisions

Under section 37 of the NSCA, the Commission has delegated signing authority of licences issued under the Class II Nuclear Facilities and Prescribed Equipment Regulations to designated officers, who make most licensing and compliance decisions regarding Class II facilities. If a licensee or applicant disagrees with a decision, they have the opportunity to be heard by the designated officer and, if necessary, by the Commission.

Délivrance de permis pour les installations nucléaires de catégorie II

Les exigences relatives à la délivrance d’un permis pour les installations nucléaires de catégorie II sont énoncées dans le Règlement sur les installations nucléaires et l'équipement réglementé de catégorie II, de même que dans le Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et le Règlement sur la radioprotection.


Permis pour les installations nucléaires de catégorie II

La CCSN ne peut délivrer un permis à une installation nucléaire de catégorie II que si :

  • la Commission considère que le demandeur est qualifié
  • le demandeur a pris les mesures voulues pour la protection de l'environnement et pour la santé et la sécurité des gens
  • par ailleurs, le demandeur répond aux exigences de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et de ses règlements d’application

Il existe quatre catégories de permis pour les installations nucléaires de catégorie II :

Permis de construction

Si vous désirez construire une installation nucléaire de catégorie II au Canada, vous devez d’abord obtenir un permis de construction. On évalue les demandes de permis de construction pour s’assurer que :

  • le demandeur exerce un contrôle sur le site où l’installation nucléaire de catégorie II sera construite
  • la conception de l’installation est conforme aux exigences de la LSRN et de ses règlements d’application

La sûreté et la sécurité du public, de même que les questions d’ordre environnemental doivent avoir été prises en considération dans la conception de l’installation. Veuillez noter qu’un permis de construction n’autorise PAS le titulaire du permis à posséder des substances nucléaires ou à produire des rayonnements.

Permis d'exploitation

Avant de pouvoir posséder des substances nucléaires ou produire des rayonnements, vous devez obtenir un permis d’exploitation. Il existe deux catégories de permis d’exploitation :

1. Permis d’exploitation aux fins d’une mise en service
Les titulaires de permis de cette catégorie peuvent exploiter de l’équipement réglementé de catégorie II afin de confirmer la robustesse de la conception de leur installation et pour s’assurer que tous les systèmes de sûreté associés fonctionnent correctement. Les titulaires de permis doivent communiquer leurs constatations à la CCSN et fournir des résultats d’essai satisfaisants. Veuillez noter que les installations médicales détenant ce genre de permis ne peuvent PAS utiliser l’équipement réglementé pour traiter leurs patients.

2. Permis d'exploitation courante
Après avoir démontré à la CCSN que son installation fonctionne comme prévu, qu’il dispose d’un personnel adéquatement formé et que tous les systèmes de sûreté nécessaires sont en place et fonctionnels, le titulaire de permis pourra se voir délivrer un permis d’exploitation courante. Ce permis autorise l’exploitation de l’équipement réglementé aux fins prévues sans restriction, mais toujours dans les limites de la LSRN, de ses règlements d’application et de toute condition de permis imposée.

Permis de déclassement

Les demandeurs de permis de déclassement doivent montrer que toute installation nucléaire de catégorie II sous leur supervision sera démantelée de façon appropriée et que les substances radioactives seront manipulées et évacuées avec soin et de façon appropriée.

Permis d'entretien

Un permis d’entretien est nécessaire pour mener des activités d’entretien au Canada. Il existe deux catégories de permis d’entretien :

  • Permis d’entretien (par l’exploitant) : permet à l’exploitant d’installations nucléaires de catégorie II d’avoir recours à son propre personnel d’entretien. Les opérations d’entretien ne peuvent être effectuées qu’aux installations que possède l’exploitant.
  • Permis d’entretien (par un tiers) : Ce type de permis autorise des entités comme les fabricants d’équipement réglementé et les entreprises d’entretien indépendantes à procéder à l’entretien de l’équipement réglementé, habituellement à l’échelle du Canada.

Pour obtenir un permis d’entretien, les demandeurs doivent d’abord montrer qu’ils disposent de l’expertise nécessaire en ce qui a trait à l’utilisation et à l’entretien de l’équipement, de même qu’à la radioprotection.

Guides de présentation et formulaires de demande de permis

Pour effectuer une demande de permis, veuillez remplir le formulaire approprié.

Catégorie de permis Guide de présentation d’une demande de permis Formulaire de demande de permis Type d’utilisation applicable

Permis de construction, d’exploitation et de déclassement des installations suivantes :

  • Accélérateur linéaire médical
  • Appareil de téléthérapie à source radioactive
  • Appareil de curiethérapie à projecteur de source télécommandé (à l'exception du déclassement)

Guide de présentation d’une demande de permis – Radiothérapie – RD/GD-120 (HTML / PDF)

Formulaire de demande de permis – Radiothérapie (PDF) 521, 522, 523, 524, 525, 541, 542, 551, 552, 554, 555, 560, 561
Permis d’entretien pour n’importe quel équipement réglementé de catégorie II

Guide de présentation d’une demande de permis – Entretien d’équipement réglementé de catégorie II – RD/GD-207  (HTML / PDF)

Formulaire de demande de permis pour l’entretien d’équipement réglementé de catégorie II (PDF) 565, 566
Permis de construction, d’exploitation et de déclassement pour les accélérateurs de catégorie II pour des applications autres que la radiothérapie

Guide de présentation d’une demande de permis – Accélérateurs de catégorie II pour des applications autres que la radiothérapie – RD/GD 289 -  (HTML / PDF)

Formulaire de demande de permis pour les accélérateurs de catégorie II pour des applications autres que la radiothérapie (PDF) 515, 516, 517, 518, 519, 520

Si le guide de présentation ou le formulaire de demande de permis pour le type d’utilisation qui vous intéresse ne se trouve pas dans le tableau ci-dessus, veuillez communiquer avec votre agent des permis ou avec la CCSN.

Modification d’un permis

Si vous désirez que la Commission modifie, révoque ou remplace un permis, vous devez en faire la demande par écrit et fournir tous les renseignements supplémentaires nécessaires. La demande doit être présentée à votre personne-ressource en matière de permis.

Mandataires des demandeurs et des titulaires de permis

Conformément à l'alinéa 15a) du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, tous les demandeurs et titulaires de permis doit aviser la Commission des personnes qui ont le pouvoir d'agir en leur nom auprès de la Commission. Cela s'applique aux demandes, aux modifications et aux révocations de permis ainsi qu'aux rapports remis à la Commission conformément au règlement ou au permis de même qu'aux réponses aux avis de non-conformité. Les déclarations ou les représentations faites par le mandataire engagent des obligations pour le demandeur ou le titulaire de permis. Le formulaire Mandataires des demandeurs et des titulaires de permis doit être rempli et soumis par les nouveaux titulaires de permis ou au moment de tout changement aux mandataires d'un titulaire de permis.

Transfert de permis

Dans certaines circonstances – en vertu des paragraphes 24(2) et 24(4) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) – la CCSN peut autoriser un transfert de permis d’un titulaire à un autre, ou encore à un nouveau demandeur de permis, à condition qu’aucun changement important n’ait été apporté à l’activité autorisée. Ceci vise à simplifier le processus réglementaire pour les titulaires de permis, tout en veillant au respect de toutes les exigences réglementaires.

Une demande de transfert de permis peut être faite à la suite des changements suivants :

  • changement du nom ou du numéro d’une entreprise
  • fusion d’entreprise
  • restructuration d’entreprise

Pour faire une demande de transfert de permis, le titulaire de permis actuel doit remplir et présenter un formulaire de demande à son agent des permis de la CCSN. Sa demande doit comprendre une copie de la nouvelle preuve du statut légal. S’il y a changement de RRP, il faut présenter une demande d’accréditation du candidat proposé, avec renseignements à l’appui, en vue du traitement de la demande de transfert.

Veuillez remplir un formulaire de transfert de permis d’installations nucléaires de catégorie II.

Activités exemptées

Le Règlement sur les installations nucléaires et l’équipement réglementé de catégorie II exempte certaines activités des exigences relatives aux permis. Les activités suivantes liées aux installations nucléaires de catégorie II peuvent être exercées sans permis :

  • Préparer l’emplacement d’une installation
  • Construire, exploiter, modifier, déclasser ou abandonner une installation qui comprend un accélérateur de particules servant à la prise de diagraphies géophysiques
  • Déclasser une installation qui comprend un appareil de curiethérapie à projecteur de source télécommandé

Toute personne peut avoir en sa possession, transférer ou produire de l’équipement réglementé de catégorie II sans y être autorisée par un permis à condition qu’il ne contienne pas de substance nucléaire.

Garanties financières

Une garantie financière représente la volonté concrète d'un titulaire de permis de rendre disponible des ressources financières pour mettre fin en toute sûreté aux activités autorisées dans le cadre de tous les permis délivrés par la CCSN pour les substances nucléaires, l'équipement réglementé et les installations nucléaires de catégorie II. Le fait de ne pas cesser adéquatement les activités autorisées peut représenter un risque pour la santé et la sécurité des personnes et pour l'environnement. Une garantie financière ne libère pas le titulaire de permis de ses obligations réglementaires de cessation des activités autorisées, mais elle fait en sorte que des fonds soient disponibles s'il advenait que le titulaire de permis ne puisse pas cesser ses activités en toute sûreté.

Types d’utilisation

La CCSN classe différents équipements réglementés et différentes activités autorisées en catégories appelées « types d’utilisation ». Un type d’utilisation est une activité autorisée ou un type d’équipement précis associé à un stade d'autorisation particulier.

La plupart du temps, un permis donné ne sera valide que pour un seul type d’utilisation. Dans le cas d’un centre de traitement contre le cancer qui exploite des accélérateurs de particules médicaux et des appareils de curiethérapie à projecteur de source télécommandé et qui dispose de personnel d’entretien, on considère qu’il y a trois types d’utilisation, et chacun de ces types nécessite un permis séparé. Les types d’utilisation sont définis en fonction du stade d’autorisation de l’équipement réglementé. Par exemple, un accélérateur de particules en cours d’exploitation courante correspond à un type d’utilisation autre qu’un accélérateur de particules en cours de déclassement.

Regroupement de permis

Certains types d’utilisation courants associés à la radiothérapie peuvent être regroupés en un seul type d’utilisation. Le regroupement de permis a de nombreux avantages, dont une réduction de la documentation tout au long du processus de délivrance du permis et une période de renouvellement de dix ans (actuellement, la plupart des permis associés à la radiothérapie doivent être renouvelés tous les cinq ans).

Délais de délivrance des permis

Voici les étapes du traitement d’une demande de permis présentée à la CCSN :

  1. Inscription dans nos dossiers électroniques
  2. Vérification du paiement des droits applicables
  3. Inscription dans notre base de données de permis
  4. Évaluation technique par un agent des permis
  5. Assurance de la qualité
  6. Approbation par un fonctionnaire désigné
  7. Délivrance du permis et envoi par la poste ou par télécopieur au titulaire

Le tableau ci-dessous indique le temps habituellement requis pour l’évaluation technique d’une demande de permis. Les durées indiquées sont celles du traitement d’une demande contenant toutes les informations requises et ne demandant aucune précision additionnelle. Si la CCSN reçoit une demande incomplète, on commencera à calculer le temps de traitement à partir du moment où l’information requise est obtenue.

Type de permis Temps de traitement*
Construction 8 semaines
Mise en service 6 semaines
Entretien 6 semaines
Exploitation courante 2 semaines
Déclassement 2 semaines
Modifications de permis Dépend de la portée des modifications

* NOTA : Veuillez ajouter deux semaines à chacun des temps de traitement indiqués ci-dessus afin de tenir compte des tâches administratives, du traitement des droits perçus, etc.

Décisions en matière de permis et de conformité

En vertu de l’article 37 de la LSRN, la Commission a délégué le pouvoir de signature des permis délivrés aux termes du Règlement sur les installations nucléaires et l'équipement réglementé de catégorie II à des fonctionnaires désignés, qui prennent la plupart des décisions en matière de permis et de conformité concernant les installations de catégorie II. Si un titulaire de permis ou un demandeur est en désaccord avec une décision, il a la possibilité d’être entendu par le fonctionnaire désigné et, si nécessaire, par la Commission.