Dosimetry Service Providers

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) licenses Dosimetry Service Providers under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act. Licence requirements are detailed in CNSC's Radiation Protection Regulations. The regulations state that licensees must use a licensed dosimetry service to measure the radiation doses to all employees who have a reasonable probability of receiving an effective dose of 5 mSv or greater in a year.

According to the regulations, an application for a licence to operate a dosimetry service shall contain the following information:

  • a description of the proposed operation of the dosimetry service
  • the proposed quality assurance program
  • the types of dosimetry services proposed to be provided, including the types of radiation that will be monitored and their respective energy ranges
  • the precision, accuracy and reliability of the dosimetry services to be provided
  • the proposed qualification requirements and training program for workers

There are two categories of dosimetry service providers. Commercial service providers supply dosimetry for external clients, while in-house service providers are nuclear licensees with the capability of providing dosimetry services for their own employees and visitors. Each dosimetry service provider must meet the technical and quality assurance requirements outlined in CNSC's Technical and Quality Assurance Standards for Dosimetry Services (S-106 rev 1) (PDF). These include requirements for performance and calibration testing, with CNSC notification of any test failure.

Every licensee who operates a dosimetry service shall file with the National Dose Registry of Health Canada, at a frequency specified in the licence and in a form compatible with the Registry, specific information for each nuclear energy worker for whom it has measured and monitored a dose of radiation.

Licence Transfer

Under certain circumstances – as per the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), sections 24(2) and 24(4) – the CNSC may authorize the transfer of a licence from one licensee to another, or to a new licence applicant, provided there has been no significant change in the licensed activity. This process is intended to simplify the regulatory process for licensees, while ensuring that all regulatory requirements are met.

A request for licence transfer can be triggered by the following changes:

  • change to a corporation's name and number
  • corporate merger
  • corporate restructuring

To make an application for the transfer of a dosimetry services licence, the applicant must provide information prescribed by the Radiation Protection Regulations, the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations, and S-106 Revision 1, Technical and Quality Assurance Requirements for Dosimetry Services. The information already submitted in support of the existing licence does not have to be re-submitted, provided that it has not changed and that it will be applicable to the transferee.

When making the application, the transferor is expected to consider, amongst other things:

  • general licence application requirements
  • application for licence to operate
  • obligations of the licensees
  • representative of Applicants and Licensee
  • retention and disposal of records
  • schedule of fees payable
  • technical requirements
  • quality assurance requirements
  • type test specifications
  • independent test specifications

Fournisseurs de services de dosimétrie

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) autorise les services de dosimétrie en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires. Les exigences en matière de permis sont énoncées dans le Règlement sur la radioprotection de la CCSN. Le Règlement stipule que les titulaires de permis doivent utiliser un service de dosimétrie autorisé pour mesurer les doses de tous les employés qui risquent vraisemblablement de recevoir une dose efficace de 5 mSv ou plus dans une période de un an.

Conformément au Règlement, les demandes de permis pour exploiter un service de dosimétrie doivent comprendre les renseignements suivants :

  • une description du fonctionnement proposé du service de dosimétrie
  • le programme d’assurance de la qualité proposé
  • les genres de services de dosimétrie proposés, y compris les types de rayonnement qui seront soumis au contrôle et les gammes d’énergies correspondantes
  • la précision, l’exactitude et la fiabilité des services de dosimétrie proposés
  • les qualifications et le programme de formation proposés pour les travailleurs

Il y a deux catégories de fournisseurs de services de dosimétrie. Les fournisseurs de services commerciaux s’occupent de la dosimétrie pour des clients externes et les fournisseurs de services internes sont des titulaires de permis qui s’occupent de leurs propres employés et des visiteurs. Chaque fournisseur de services de dosimétrie doit respecter les Exigences techniques et d’assurance de la qualité pour les services de dosimétrie (S-106, rév. 1). Ce document comprend des exigences pour les essais de fonctionnement et d’étalonnage et exige d’aviser la CCSN en cas d’échec.

Le titulaire de permis qui exploite un service de dosimétrie doit déposer au Fichier dosimétrique national de Santé Canada, à la fréquence prévue dans le permis et sous une forme compatible avec le Fichier, des renseignements spécifiques sur chaque travailleur du secteur nucléaire pour qui le service a mesuré et contrôlé une dose de rayonnement.

Transfert de permis

Dans certaines circonstances – en vertu des paragraphes 24(2) et 24(4) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) – la CCSN peut autoriser un transfert de permis d'un titulaire à un autre, ou encore à un nouveau demandeur de permis, à condition qu'aucun changement important n'ait été apporté à l'activité autorisée. Ceci vise à simplifier le processus réglementaire pour les titulaires de permis, tout en veillant au respect de toutes les exigences réglementaires.

Une demande de transfert de permis peut être faite à la suite des changements suivants :

  • changement du nom ou du numéro d'une entreprise
  • fusion d'entreprise
  • restructuration d'entreprise

Dans une demande de transfert d'un permis de services de dosimétrie, le demandeur doit fournir les renseignements exigés par le Règlement sur la radioprotection, le Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et le document S-106 Révision 1, Exigences techniques et d'assurance de la qualité pour les services de dosimétrie. Il n'est pas nécessaire de soumettre à nouveau l'information soumise à l'appui du permis existant, tant que cette information n'a pas changé et qu'elle est applicable au destinataire du transfert.

Au moment de présenter une demande, l'auteur du transfert doit prendre en considération, entre autres choses, les éléments suivants :

  • les exigences générales concernant la demande de permis
  • la demande de permis d'exploitation
  • les obligations du titulaire de permis
  • le représentant du demandeur et du titulaire de permis
  • la conservation et l'élimination des dossiers
  • le calendrier de paiement des droits
  • les exigences techniques
  • les exigences relatives à l'assurance de la qualité
  • les spécifications des essais de type
  • les spécifications des essais indépendants