Regulatory framework overview

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment; to implement Canada’s international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy; and to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public. Established in 2000 under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), the CNSC reports to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources. To safely regulate an evolving nuclear sector, the CNSC maintains an effective and flexible regulatory framework.

What makes up the CNSC's regulatory framework?

The CNSC's regulatory framework consists of laws passed by Parliament that govern the regulation of Canada's nuclear industry, and regulations, licences and documents that the CNSC uses to regulate the industry. The CNSC is committed to providing regulatory instruments that make its expectations clear. Published regulatory documents are considered to be living documents subject to regular review, so your feedback is welcome at any time.

A triangle diagram shows the elements of the regulatory framework such as the enabling legislation, requirements and guidance from top to the bottom.

What is the regulatory document framework?

The regulatory document framework refers to documents detailing the CNSC's approach to regulating the nuclear industry. The framework combines all the existing documents and document projects in a clear and logical manner according to regulated facilities and activities, safety and control areas and other areas of regulatory interest.

This framework facilitates licensee and public access to every applicable CNSC regulatory expectation. These documents are periodically reviewed, and they will be reissued according to the CNSC's updated regulatory document framework.

For more information, visit the CNSC's regulatory documents webpage.

What is the difference between an act and a regulation?

In Canada, an act is a means by which laws are made by Parliament. A regulation, often referred to as "delegated legislation" or "subordinate legislation", may be viewed as the operational part of a law, commonly dealing with matters such as what is meant by certain terms used in an act, procedures and processes that must be followed or standards that must be met in order to comply with an act.

Regulations are not made by Parliament, but rather by someone to whom Parliament has delegated the authority to make them. The Commission has the authority under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA) to make regulations, with the approval of the Governor in Council, for matters related to its mandate.

What are requirements and guidance?

Regulatory documents generally include two kinds of information: requirements and guidance. When included in the licensing basis, requirements are mandatory and must be met by any licensees wishing to obtain (or retain) a licence or certificate to use nuclear substances or to operate a nuclear facility.

Guidance provides direction to licensees and applicants on how to meet requirements. It also provides more information about approaches used by CNSC staff to evaluate specific problems or data during the review of licence applications. Licensees are expected to review and consider guidance; if these are not being followed, the licensees should explain how the alternate approach they have chosen still meets regulatory requirements.

What is a regulatory document?

Regulatory documents are a key part of the CNSC's regulatory framework for nuclear activities in Canada. They explain to licensees and applicants what they must achieve in order to meet the requirements set out in the NSCA and the regulations made under the NSCA.

Regulatory documents may contain practical guidance and suggestions to licensees and applicants on how to meet the CNSC's regulatory requirements. Such guidance may include, but is not limited to, information on possible approaches to the design of nuclear facilities, the design and implementation of required management and operational programs, and forms for applying for licences or reporting information to the Commission.

Other guidance

Other internal forms of guidance can include any other documents and applicable reports, CNSC publications, staff review procedures and CNSC inspection procedures. The CNSC produces plain-language publications that describe nuclear-related issues as well as regulatory requirements and processes. They are intended for the general public, governments and other stakeholders.

External forms of guidance can include information on best practices and domestic and international standards including standards published by the Canadian Standards Association (CSA). CSA standards are an important part of the CNSC's regulatory framework and complement regulatory documents that are developed by CNSC staff.

What is the standard process for developing regulatory documents?

The regulatory document development process has five key steps, which are summarized as follows:

Analyze the issue

A regulatory issue (which the CNSC has decided to address through the development or amendment of a regulation or regulatory document) is first analyzed to determine the appropriate scope and purpose of the project. The analysis includes a review of existing regulations, regulatory documents and standards, as well as an analysis of the appropriate regulatory actions needed to address the issue. In some cases, discussion papers are issued for public consultation during the analysis stage in order to obtain early public input.

This early, up-front analysis results in a clearer understanding of the regulatory issue (or issues) at play, along with the options available to the CNSC to address them. Options could include the development of new regulations, the revision of an existing regulatory document, or the introduction of new regulatory documents. Other regulatory approaches include amending licences and/or licence condition handbooks and increasing compliance activities.

Develop a draft of the document for public comment

Once the decision has been made to proceed with a new (or revised) regulatory document, the CNSC develops requirements and guidance for the subject in question. This information may be included as a proposed revision to an existing document, or as part of the introduction of a new regulatory document. This stage also includes a detailed internal review and approval process, as well as the final editing, formatting and translation of the draft documents.

Consult with stakeholders

The consultation process for draft documents has two steps:

  1. Consultation: The draft document is posted to the CNSC website. The public, licensees and interested organizations are invited to comment within a defined period.
  2. Invitation to provide feedback on comments received: All the comments received during the first consultation period are posted on the CNSC website. All the stakeholders have an opportunity to view these comments and provide additional feedback.

Revise the draft document for approval and publication

The CNSC reviews all comments received during the public consultation stage and determines if any changes are necessary to the document. All the comments are collected in a consultation report which includes the CNSC's response to each comment. The draft documents are then revised as necessary, and prepared for final publication. If the proposed document includes new requirements that the CNSC intends to impose on licensees, the document is presented to the Commission during a public meeting for its review and approval.

Publish the regulatory document

All final documents are released through the CNSC's website, for use by stakeholders and licensees.

For more information about current and planned projects relating to regulatory documents and discussion papers, visit the CNSC's regulatory framework plan website.

What is a discussion paper?

Discussion papers are vehicles for communicating the CNSC's proposed approaches to regulatory issues (such as fitness for duty for nuclear workers, radiation protection and waste management). They provide opportunities for early stakeholder input to the CNSC's regulatory policies. This input is then utilized to streamline regulatory document development and publishing by addressing any licensees' or stakeholders' concerns early on, during the regulatory lifecycle.

Discussion papers are generally used in three situations: when considering amendments to regulations, or creating new regulations; when proposing regulatory oversight in a new area; or when exercising authority in a different manner than past practice.

To view current and past discussion papers, visit the CNSC's Discussion Paper webpage.

How does the CNSC consult with the public?

The CNSC welcomes public input on draft regulatory documents and discussion papers. Draft regulatory documents and discussion papers are released for public comment on the CNSC's consultation page and the Government of Canada's Consulting with Canadians Web site. The standard timelines for consultation are 60 calendar days for regulatory documents and 120 calendar days for discussion papers.

Individuals and organizations on the CNSC's distribution list are notified about the release of new regulatory documents and discussion papers for comment, via the CNSC's subscription list email. A consultation notice for new documents is also posted on the home page of the CNSC website and the Government of Canada's Consulting with Canadians website.

All comments received during public consultation are posted on the CNSC's website and further feedback is requested for another 15 calendar days.

If the comments received during public consultation (or the feedback on comments) period are substantial and warrant significant changes, revised regulatory documents may be provided to interested stakeholders, for additional input. This second round of public consultation would generally be 60 calendar days in length.

All comments received by the CNSC during public consultation are reviewed and addressed by staff.

In addition to soliciting comments on specific draft regulatory documents and discussion papers, the CNSC welcomes feedback on any regulatory document from the public, at any time. Comments can be submitted by:

  • email
  • mail:
    Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
    P.O. Box 1046, Station B
    280 Slater Street
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1P 5S9
  • fax: 613-995-5086

To view current regulatory documents and discussion papers posted for consultation, visit the CNSC's Consultation webpage.

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Aperçu du cadre de réglementation

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité, de protéger l'environnement, de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l'égard de l'utilisation pacifique de l'énergie nucléaire, et d’informer objectivement le public sur les plans scientifique ou technique ou en ce qui concerne la réglementation du domaine de l’énergie nucléaire. Établie en 2000 en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), la CCSN rend des comptes au Parlement par l'entremise du ministre des Ressources naturelles. Afin de réglementer en toute sûreté un secteur nucléaire en évolution, la CCSN maintient un cadre de réglementation souple et efficace.

Qu'est-ce qui constitue le cadre de réglementation de la CCSN?

Le cadre de réglementation de la CCSN est constitué de lois votées par le Parlement qui régissent la réglementation du secteur nucléaire canadien, et de règlements, permis et documents utilisés par la CCSN pour réglementer ce secteur. La CCSN s'est engagée à fournir des instruments de réglementation qui rendent ses attentes claires. Les documents d'application de la réglementation publiés sont considérés comme des documents évolutifs soumis à des révisions régulières, donc vos commentaires sont donc toujours les bienvenus.

Élements du cadre de réglementation

Qu'est-ce que le cadre des documents d'application de la réglementation?

Il s'agit des documents qui décrivent l'approche qu'applique la CCSN dans la réglementation du secteur nucléaire. Le cadre combine tous les documents existants et tous les projets de documents d'une manière claire et logique, en fonction des installations et des activités réglementées, des domaines de sûreté et de réglementation et d'autres domaines d'intérêt réglementaire.

Ce cadre facilite l'accès des titulaires de permis et du public à toutes les attentes réglementaires applicables de la CCSN. Les documents sont revus sur une base périodique et seront réédités en fonction de la mise à jour du cadre des documents d'application de la réglementation de la CCSN.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter le site Web des documents d'application de la réglementation.

Quelle est la différence entre une loi et un règlement?

Au Canada, une loi est une règle votée par le Parlement. On peut considérer un règlement, souvent appelé « mesure législative subordonnée » ou « législation par délégation », comme la composante opérationnelle d'une loi, traitant généralement de thèmes comme le sens entendu par certains termes utilisés dans une loi, les procédures et processus qu'il faut suivre ou les normes qu'il faut respecter afin de se conformer à une loi.

Les règlements ne sont pas établis par le Parlement, mais plutôt par une instance à qui le Parlement a délégué le pouvoir de les adopter. La Commission détient le pouvoir, en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et avec l'approbation du gouverneur en conseil, de prendre des règlements qui ont trait à son mandat.

Qu'est-ce qu'une exigence et qu'est-ce qu'une orientation?

Les documents d'application de la réglementation comprennent généralement deux types d'information : les exigences et l'orientation. Lorsqu'elles sont incorporées dans le fondement d'autorisation, les exigences deviennent obligatoires et doivent être respectées par tout titulaire de permis qui souhaite obtenir (ou conserver) un permis ou un certificat l'autorisant à utiliser des substances nucléaires ou à exploiter une installation nucléaire.

L'orientation fournit des directives aux demandeurs et aux titulaires de permis sur la façon de répondre aux exigences. L'orientation fournit également plus d'information sur les méthodes utilisées par le personnel de la CCSN pour évaluer des problèmes précis ou des données pendant l'examen d'une demande de permis. Les titulaires de permis doivent examiner l'orientation et en tenir compte. S'ils n'appliquent pas cette orientation, ils devraient expliquer comment la méthode de rechange qu'ils ont choisie répond tout autant aux exigences réglementaires.

Qu'est-ce qu'un document d'application de la réglementation?

Les documents d'application de la réglementation sont des éléments clés du cadre de réglementation de la CCSN pour les activités nucléaires au Canada. Ils expliquent aux titulaires de permis et aux demandeurs ce qu'ils doivent accomplir afin de se conformer aux exigences établies dans la LSRN ainsi qu'aux règlements pris en vertu de la LSRN.

Les documents d'application de la réglementation peuvent aussi comporter des directives pratiques et des suggestions à l'intention des titulaires de permis et des demandeurs sur la manière de respecter les exigences réglementaires de la CCSN. Ces orientations peuvent comprendre, sans s'y limiter, de l'information sur les approches possibles de conception d'une installation nucléaire ainsi que de conception et d'application des programmes de gestion et d'exploitation requis, et sur les formulaires de demande de permis ou les rapports à soumettre à la Commission.

Autres documents d'orientation

Les différents types de documents d'orientation internes peuvent aussi comprendre tout autre document et rapport applicable, les procédures d'examen pour le personnel et les procédures d'inspection de la CCSN. La CCSN produit des publications, qui traitent de questions liées à l'activité nucléaire ainsi que des exigences et des processus de réglementation. Ils sont destinés au public en général, aux gouvernements et aux autres parties intéressées.

Les documents d'orientation externes comprennent de l'information sur les pratiques exemplaires ainsi que sur les normes nationales et internationales, dont les normes publiées par l'Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA). Les normes de la CSA constituent une part importante du cadre de réglementation de la CCSN et complètent les documents d'application de la réglementation qui sont élaborés par le personnel de la CCSN.

Quel est le processus normal d'élaboration d'un document d'application de la réglementation?

Le processus d'élaboration d'un document d'application de la réglementation comprend cinq étapes clés :

Analyser l'enjeu

Un enjeu réglementaire (que la CCSN a décidé d'aborder par l'élaboration ou la modification d'un règlement ou d'un document d'application de la réglementation) est d'abord analysé pour déterminer la portée appropriée et le but du projet. L'analyse comprend un examen des règlements, normes et documents d'application de la réglementation actuels, ainsi qu'une analyse des mesures réglementaires appropriées nécessaires pour aborder l'enjeu. Dans certains cas, des documents de travail sont publiés aux fins de consultation publique pendant l'étape de l'analyse afin d'obtenir tôt dans le processus les commentaires du public.

Au début du processus, l'analyse initiale apporte une meilleure compréhension de l'enjeu réglementaire (ou des enjeux) et présente les options à la disposition de la CCSN. Ces options peuvent inclure l'élaboration d'un nouveau règlement, la révision d'un document d'application de la réglementation existant ou l'ajout de nouveaux documents d'application de la réglementation. D'autres approches réglementaires incluent la modification de permis ou de manuels des conditions de permis, ou l'augmentation du nombre d'activités de vérification de la conformité.

Élaborer un projet de document aux fins de commentaires du public

Une fois que la décision a été prise d'aller de l'avant avec un nouveau document d'application de la réglementation (ou une révision), la CCSN établit les exigences et l'orientation pour le sujet à l'étude. Cette information peut prendre la forme d'une révision proposée à un document, ou faire partie de l'introduction d'un nouveau document d'application de la réglementation. Cette étape comprend également un examen interne rigoureux et un processus d'approbation, ainsi que la révision finale, le formatage et la traduction du projet de document.

Consulter les parties intéressées

Le processus de consultation des projets de document se divise en deux étapes :

  1. Consultation : Le projet de document est affiché sur le site Web de la CCSN. Le public, les titulaires de permis et les organisations intéressées sont invités à donner leurs commentaires sur le projet de document dans un délai déterminé.
  2. Invitation à fournir de la rétroaction sur les commentaires reçus : Tous les commentaires reçus pendant la première période de consultation sont affichés sur le site Web de la CCSN. Toutes les parties intéressées ont alors la possibilité de les consulter et de fournir de la rétroaction supplémentaire.

Réviser le projet de document aux fins d'approbation et de publication

La CCSN étudie tous les commentaires reçus à l'étape de la consultation publique et détermine si des changements doivent être apportés au document. Tous les commentaires sont rassemblés dans un rapport de consultation qui comprend la réponse de la CCSN à chaque commentaire. Le projet de document est alors révisé selon le cas et finalisé aux fins de publication. Si le document proposé présente des nouvelles exigences que la CCSN entend imposer aux titulaires de permis, il est alors soumis à l'examen et à l'approbation de la Commission lors d'une réunion publique.

Publier le document d'application de la réglementation

Tous les documents finaux sont publiés sur le site Web de la CCSN et mis à la disposition des parties intéressées et des titulaires de permis.

Pour plus d'information sur les projets en cours ou prévus en lien avec des documents d'application de la réglementation ou des documents de travail, veuillez consulter le site Web du Plan du cadre de réglementation de la CCSN.

Qu'est-ce qu'un document de travail?

Le document de travail est un moyen pour la CCSN de communiquer les approches qu'elle propose pour aborder un enjeu réglementaire (comme l'aptitude au travail des travailleurs du secteur nucléaire, la radioprotection et la gestion des déchets). Ils donnent aux parties intéressées la possibilité de commenter tôt dans le processus les politiques de réglementation de la CCSN. Cette rétroaction est ensuite utilisée pour simplifier l'élaboration et la publication du document d'application de la réglementation, en abordant dès le départ les préoccupations que pourraient avoir les titulaires de permis ou les parties intéressées pendant le cycle de vie réglementaire.

Habituellement, les documents de travail sont utilisés dans trois situations : lorsqu'on envisage de modifier un règlement ou de créer un nouveau règlement, lorsqu'on propose une surveillance réglementaire dans un nouveau domaine ou lorsqu'on applique les pouvoirs d'une manière qui s'éloigne des anciennes pratiques.

Pour consulter les documents de travail passés ou actuels, consultez la des documents de travail de la CCSN.

Comment la CCSN mène-t-elle ses consultations avec le public?

La CCSN accueille favorablement les commentaires du public sur les projets de documents d'application de la réglementation et les documents de travail. Ces documents sont publiés aux fins de commentaires du public sur la page de consultation de la CCSN et sur le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens du gouvernement du Canada. La période standard de consultation est de 60 jours civils pour les documents d'application de la réglementation et de 120 jours civils pour les documents de travail.

Les personnes et les organisations qui font partie de la liste de distribution de la CCSN sont avisées par courriel (liste d'abonnés) de la publication de nouveaux documents d'application de la réglementation ou de documents de travail aux fins de commentaires. Un avis de consultation pour les nouveaux documents est également affiché sur la page d'accueil du site Web de la CCSN et sur le site Web Consultation auprès des Canadiens du gouvernement du Canada.

Tous les commentaires reçus pendant la consultation publique sont affichés sur le site Web de la CCSN, et le public est invité à faire part de sa rétroaction pendant encore 15 jours civils.

Si les commentaires reçus pendant la période de consultation publique (ou la rétroaction sur les commentaires) sont substantiels et requièrent des modifications importantes, les documents d'application de la réglementation révisés pourraient être retournés aux parties intéressées pour solliciter d'autres commentaires. Cette deuxième ronde de consultation publique durerait normalement 60 jours civils.

Tous les commentaires reçus par la CCSN pendant la consultation publique sont examinés par le personnel qui y répond.

En plus de solliciter des commentaires sur des projets de documents d'application de la réglementation précis et des documents de travail, la CCSN accueille favorablement en tout temps tout commentaire du public sur n'importe quel document d'application de la réglementation. Les commentaires peuvent être soumis :

  • par courriel
  • par la poste :
    Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
    C.P. 1046, succursale B
    280, rue Slater
    Ottawa (Ontario) Canada  K1P 5S9
  • par télécopieur : 613-995-5086

Pour consulter les documents d'application de la réglementation et les documents de travail actuellement publiés aux fins de consultation, veuillez consulter la page Web Consultation de la CCSN.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Pour en savoir plus sur les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.