Request for Information on Potential Impacts of Draft REGDOC-3.3.1, Financial Guarantees for Decommissioning of Nuclear Facilities and Termination of Licensed Activities

1. Preface

Acknowledging the draft nature of this document, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is seeking a preliminary assessment of the potential impacts of draft REGDOC-3.3.1, Financial Guarantees for Decommissioning of Nuclear Facilities and Termination of Licensed Activities, should it receive Commission approval. The CNSC welcomes comments on this document as well as on the proposed regulatory document itself.

Comments could include additional information on potential impacts should the regulatory document be approved by the Commission and subsequently implemented. Should stakeholders decide to submit impact estimates, the CNSC encourages them to clearly state assumptions and provide enough detail to allow an independent observer to understand how the estimate was derived. Stakeholders could also propose potential alternative approaches that meet the document’s safety objectives.

The CNSC will consider comments received. Comments will be included in the main regulatory document (REGDOC) disposition table and may lead to modifications in the draft REGDOC.

In fulfilling its mandate as a federal regulator, the CNSC must also consider values and principles that are difficult to quantify with a dollar value. It must also give consideration to fulfilling its responsibility under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act to disseminate objective scientific and regulatory information. In all cases, safety is the CNSC’s top priority.

All comments received will become part of the public record.

2. Background

Under the authority of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA), "the Commission may include any term or condition on the licence, including a condition that the applicant provide a financial guarantee in a form that is acceptable to the Commission". In accordance with the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations, section 3 (1) (l) "an application for a licence shall contain a description of any proposed financial guarantee for the activity to be licensed". This means that the applicants and licensees are required to make adequate provision for the safe decommissioning of existing or proposed operations by ensuring that sufficient financial resources are available to fund all approved decommissioning activities should the licensee is not available to fulfill its obligations.

This document supersedes G-206, Financial Guarantees for the Decommissioning of Licensed Activities, published in June 2000.

3. Objectives

Financial guarantees are a tangible commitment by a licence applicant or a licensee that there will be sufficient resources to safely terminate licensed activities. A financial guarantee does not relieve licensees of compliance with regulatory requirements for decommissioning of nuclear facilities or termination of licensed activities – the financial guarantee ensures that there are funds available to the CNSC when licensees are unable to carry out safe decommissioning or termination of activities.

This document presents information for those who have incurred, or expect to incur, obligations with respect to the decommissioning of nuclear facilities or the termination of activities licensed by the CNSC.

4. Regulatory approach

Financial guarantees must be sufficient to cover the cost of decommissioning of nuclear facilities or termination of licensed activities authorized by the current licence. This document provides requirements and guidance to applicants and licensees regarding the establishment and maintenance of funding for the decommissioning of facilities and termination of activities licensed by the CNSC.

5. Potential impacts

The CNSC welcomes stakeholder comments on potential impacts, should draft REGDOC-3.3.1 be approved. Stakeholders may consider impacts in terms of costs, operations or other impacts.

6. Feedback requested

Please submit comments or feedback to the CNSC by September 24, 2019, in one of the following ways:

  • Email: cnsc.consultation.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Mail: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
    P.O. Box 1046, Station B
    280 Slater Street
    Ottawa, ON  K1P 5S9
  • Fax: 613-995-5086
Date modified:

Demande d’information sur les incidences potentielles du projet de REGDOC-3.3.1, Garanties financières pour le déclassement des installations nucléaires et la cessation des activités autorisées

1. Préface

Reconnaissant la nature provisoire du présent document, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) sollicite une évaluation préliminaire des incidences potentielles du projet de document d’application de la réglementation REGDOC-3.1.1, Garanties financières pour le déclassement des installations nucléaires et la cessation des activités autorisées dans le cas où il serait approuvé par la Commission. La CCSN veut obtenir des commentaires sur le présent document ainsi que sur le document d’application de la réglementation proposé.

Les commentaires pourraient inclure des renseignements supplémentaires sur les incidences potentielles du document d’application de la réglementation s’il est approuvé par la Commission et mis en œuvre. Si des parties intéressées décident de soumettre une estimation des incidences, la CCSN les encourage à énoncer clairement les hypothèses utilisées et à fournir suffisamment de détails afin de permettre à un observateur indépendant de comprendre la façon dont on est arrivé à cette estimation. Les parties intéressées pourraient aussi proposer d’autres approches permettant de réaliser les objectifs en matière de sûreté du document.

La CCSN tiendra compte des commentaires reçus, lesquels seront inclus dans le tableau principal de réponse aux commentaires du document d’application de la réglementation et pourraient mener à des modifications à ce dernier.

Pour s’acquitter de son mandat à titre d’organisme de réglementation fédéral, la CCSN doit tenir compte de valeurs et de principes qui sont difficiles à quantifier monétairement. Elle doit également tenir compte du besoin de s’acquitter de sa responsabilité en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN), qui consiste à diffuser des renseignements scientifiques et réglementaires objectifs. Dans tous les cas, la sûreté est la principale priorité de la CCSN.

Tous les commentaires reçus seront versés au dossier public.

2. Contexte

Des garanties financières pour le déclassement des installations nucléaires et la cessation des activités autorisées sont exigées en vertu du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires pris en application de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires. La LSRN exige que les demandeurs et les titulaires de permis prennent les mesures voulues pour assurer le déclassement sûr des activités existantes ou proposées en établissant des garanties financières adéquates pour le déclassement.

Le REGDOC-3.3.1 remplace le document G-206, Les garanties financières pour le déclassement des activités autorisées, publié en juin 2000.

3. Objectifs

Les garanties financières représentent l’engagement concret du titulaire ou du demandeur de permis de faire en sorte que des ressources financières suffisantes soient disponibles pour mettre fin aux activités autorisées en toute sûreté. Une garantie financière ne dispense pas les titulaires de permis de se conformer aux exigences réglementaires relatives au déclassement des installations nucléaires ou à la cessation des activités autorisées – la garantie financière procure l’assurance que la CCSN dispose de fonds lorsque les titulaires de permis ne sont pas en mesure de procéder au déclassement sûr ou à la cessation sûre des activités.

Le présent document contient des renseignements à l’intention de ceux et celles qui ont contracté, ou prévoient contracter, des obligations relatives au déclassement d’installations nucléaires ou à la cessation d’activités autorisées par la CCSN.

4. Approche réglementaire

Les garanties financières doivent être suffisantes pour couvrir le coût du déclassement des installations nucléaires ou de la cessation des activités autorisées par le permis actuel. Le présent document énonce les exigences et l’orientation à l’intention des demandeurs et des titulaires de permis concernant l’établissement et le maintien du financement pour le déclassement des installations et la cessation des activités autorisées par la CCSN.

5. Incidences potentielles

La CCSN sollicite les commentaires des parties intéressées sur les incidences potentielles du REGDOC-3.3.1, dans le cas où le projet de document serait approuvé. Les parties intéressées peuvent envisager ces incidences en termes de coûts, d’activités ou autres.

6. Demande de rétroaction

Veuillez soumettre vos commentaires ou votre rétroaction à la CCSN d’ici le 24 septembre 2019, de l’une des manières suivantes :

  • Par courriel : cnsc.consultation.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Par la poste : Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
    280, rue Slater, C.P. 1046, succursale B
    Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 5S9
  • Télécopieur : 613-995-5086
Dernière mise à jour :