REGDOC-2.2.3: Personnel Certification: Exposure Device Operators

Preface

This regulatory document is part of the CNSC’s Human Performance Management series of regulatory documents, which also covers personnel training and fitness for duty. The full list of regulatory document series is included at the end of this document and can also be found on the CNSC’s website.

Regulatory document REGDOC-2.2.3, Personnel Certification: Exposure Device Operators, provides, through a reference, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission’s requirements and guidance for certification as an exposure device operator (EDO) and for renewal of an EDO certification, pursuant to the Nuclear Substances and Radiation Devices Regulations. This information is detailed in a Canadian Standards Association (CSA Group) document; where regulatory information is already available, this document points to that information to promote clarity and avoid discrepancies between sources.

This document is part of a group of documents on personnel certification under regulatory document REGDOC-2.2.3. It supersedes G-229, Certification of Exposure Device Operators, published in March 2004.

1. Introduction

An exposure device is a device that contains a sealed nuclear substance that is used in industrial radiography to evaluate the internal structure and integrity of metals and other materials in pipelines, welds, castings and building structures. To protect the health, safety and security of workers, the public, and the environment, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) regulates the personnel who are allowed to operate exposure devices in Canada.

1.1 Purpose

The purpose of this regulatory document is to provide, through a reference, the CNSC’s requirements and guidance for certification as an exposure device operator (EDO) and for renewal of an EDO certification. This information is detailed in a Canadian Standards Association (CSA Group) document.

1.2 Scope

This document applies to any person seeking certification as an EDO or seeking to renew their EDO certification pursuant to the Nuclear Substances and Radiation Devices Regulations (NSRDR).

1.3 Relevant legislation

The provisions of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA) and its regulations relevant to this document include:

  1. Paragraph 21(1)(i) of the NSCA states that "The Commission may, in order to attain its objects, certify and decertify persons referred to in paragraph 44(1)(k) as qualified to carry out their duties under this Act or the duties of their employment, as the case may be;"
  2. Paragraph 37(2)(b) of the NSCA states that "The Commission may authorize a designated officer to certify and decertify persons referred to in paragraph 44(1)(k) as qualified to carry out their duties under this Act or the duties of their employment, as the case may be;"
  3. Paragraph 44(1)(k) of the NSCA states that "The Commission may, with the approval of the Governor in Council, make regulations respecting the qualifications for, and the training and examination of, analysts, inspectors, nuclear energy workers and other persons employed in a nuclear facility or other place where a nuclear substance or prescribed equipment is produced, used, possessed, packaged, transported, stored or disposed of, and prescribing the fees for the examination of analysts, inspectors, nuclear energy workers and such other persons;"
  4. Section 24 of the NSRDR states that “No person other than a certified exposure device operator, or a trainee who is acting under the direct supervision and continuous observation of a certified exposure device operator, shall operate an exposure device."
  5. Section 25 of the NSRDR states that The Commission or a designated officer authorized under paragraph 37(2)(b) of the Act may certify a person as an exposure device operator after receiving an application that includes the following information:
    • a) the person’s name and business address;
    • b) the person’s training and experience; and
    • c) evidence of the successful completion by the person of an examination recognized by the Commission."

Top of page

2. Exposure Device Operators

Pursuant to the NSRDR, only a certified exposure device operator (EDO) or a trainee acting under the direct supervision and continuous observation of a certified EDO is allowed to operate an exposure device. Any person who wishes to be certified as an EDO or who wishes to renew their EDO certification must submit an application to the CNSC.

The CNSC’s requirements and guidance for certification as an EDO and for renewal of an EDO certification are specified in the Canadian Standards Association (CSA Group) document CSA PCP-09, Certified Exposure Device Operator Personnel Certification Guide. CSA PCP-09 was produced by the CSA Group with assistance from a committee of experts from the radiography industry, the CNSC and other government departments. The document, along with additional information on EDOs and EDO certification, is available on the CNSC website.

References

  1. CSA Group, CSA PCP-09, Certified Exposure Device Operator Personnel Certification Guide.

CNSC Regulatory Document Series

Facilities and activities within the nuclear sector in Canada are regulated by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC). In addition to the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, there may also be requirements to comply with other regulatory instruments such as regulatory documents or standards.

Effective April 2013, the CNSC's catalogue of existing and planned regulatory documents has been organized under three key categories and twenty-five series, as set out below. Regulatory documents produced by the CNSC fall under one of the following series:

  • 1.0 Regulated facilities and activities
  • Series 1.1 Reactor facilities
    • 1.2 Class IB facilities
    • 1.3 Uranium mines and mills
    • 1.4 Class II facilities
    • 1.5 Certification of prescribed equipment
    • 1.6 Nuclear substances and radiation devices
  • 2.0 Safety and control areas
  • Series 2.1 Management system
    • 2.2 Human performance management
    • 2.3 Operating performance
    • 2.4 Safety analysis
    • 2.5 Physical design
    • 2.6 Fitness for service
    • 2.7 Radiation protection
    • 2.8 Conventional health and safety
    • 2.9 Environmental protection
    • 2.10 Emergency management and fire protection
    • 2.11 Waste management
    • 2.12 Security
    • 2.13 Safeguards and non-proliferation
    • 2.14 Packaging and transport
  • 3.0 Other regulatory areas
  • Series 3.1 Reporting requirements
    • 3.2 Public and Aboriginal engagement
    • 3.3 Financial guarantees
    • 3.4 Commission proceedings
    • 3.5 CNSC processes and practices
    • 3.6 Glossary of CNSC terminology

Note: The regulatory document series may be adjusted periodically by the CNSC. Each regulatory document series listed above may contain multiple regulatory documents. For the latest list of regulatory documents, visit the CNSC's website.

REGDOC-2.2.3, Accréditation du personnel : Opérateurs d’appereil d’exposition

Préface

Le présent document d’application de la réglementation fait partie de la série de documents d’application de la réglementation de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) intitulée Gestion de la performance humaine, qui traite également de la formation du personnel et de l’aptitude au travail. La liste complète des séries de documents d’application de la réglementation figure à la fin du document et peut aussi être consultée sur le site web de la CCSN.

Conformément au Règlement sur les substances nucléaires et les appareils à rayonnement, le REGDOC 2.2.3, Accréditation du personnel : Opérateurs d’appareil d’exposition, stipule, au moyen d’un document de référence, les exigences et l’orientation relatives au processus d’accréditation et de renouvellement de l’accréditation d’un opérateur d’appareil d’exposition (OAE). Cette information est détaillée dans un document de l’Association canadienne de normalisation (Groupe CSA). Quand l’information réglementaire est disponible, le présent document renvoie directement à cette information afin de favoriser la clarté et d’éviter les contradictions.

Le présent document fait partie d’un groupe de documents portant sur l’accréditation du personnel sous le numéro REGDOC-2.2.3. Il remplace le document G-229, Accréditation des opérateurs d’appareil d’exposition, publié en mars 2004.

1. Introduction

Un appareil d’exposition est un appareil qui contient une substance nucléaire scellée et qui est utilisé en gammagraphie industrielle pour évaluer la structure interne et l’intégrité des métaux et d’autres matériaux utilisés dans les pipelines, les soudures, les moulages et les structures de bâtiments. Afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) réglemente les personnes autorisées à faire fonctionner les appareils d’exposition au Canada.

1.1 Objet

Le présent document d’application de la réglementation stipule, au moyen d’un document de référence, les exigences et l’orientation de la CCSN relatives au processus d’accréditation et de renouvellement de l’accréditation d’un opérateur d’appareil d’exposition (OAE). Ces renseignements sont expliqués en détail dans un document de l’Association canadienne de normalisation (Groupe CSA).

1.2 Portée

Le document s’applique à toute personne faisant une demande d’accréditation à titre d’OAE ou un renouvellement de son accréditation d’OAE en vertu du Règlement sur les substances nucléaires et les appareils à rayonnement (RSNAR).

1.3 Dispositions législatives pertinentes

Les dispositions de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et de ses règlements connexes se rapportant au présent document sont :

  1. L’alinéa 21(1)(i) de la LSRN autorise la Commission à « accréditer les personnes visées à l’alinéa 44(1)k) pour accomplir leurs fonctions, ou [à] retirer leur accréditation »
  2. L’alinéa 37(2)(b) de la LSRN stipule que « la Commission peut autoriser le fonctionnaire désigné à accréditer les personnes visées à l’alinéa 44(1)k) pour accomplir leur fonction, ou retirer leur accréditation »
  3. L’alinéa 44(1)(k) de la LSRN autorise la Commission, par règlement, à « régir les conditions de compétence, de formation et d’examens à satisfaire par les analystes, les inspecteurs, les travailleurs du secteur nucléaire ou toute autre personne qui exerce des fonctions dans une installation nucléaire ou un autre lieu où une substance nucléaire ou de l’équipement réglementé sont, selon le cas, produits, utilisés, possédés, emballés, transportés, stockés provisoirement ou en permanence, entreposés, évacués ou éliminés, et fixer les droits applicables aux examens »
  4. Selon l’article 24 du RSNAR, « il est interdit à quiconque de faire fonctionner un appareil d’exposition à moins d’être un opérateur d’appareil d’exposition accrédité ou un stagiaire agissant sous la surveillance directe et continue d’un tel opérateur »
  5. L’article 25 du RSNAR stipule que « la Commission ou un fonctionnaire désigné autorisé en vertu de l’alinéa 37(2)(b) de la Loi peut accréditer une personne à titre d’opérateur d’appareil d’exposition sur réception d’une demande qui comprend les renseignements suivants :
    • a) le nom de la personne et son adresse d’affaires;
    • b) la formation et l’expérience de la personne;
    • c) une preuve établissant que la personne a réussi un examen d’accréditation reconnue par la Commission. »

Top of page

2. Opérateurs d’appareil d’exposition

En vertu du RSNAR, seul un opérateur d’appareil d’exposition (OAE) accrédité ou un stagiaire agissant sous la supervision directe et continue d’un OAE accrédité sont autorisés à faire fonctionner un appareil d’exposition. Toute personne souhaitant être accréditée à titre d’OAE ou renouveler son accréditation d’OAE doit présenter une demande à la CCSN.

Les exigences et l’orientation de la CCSN relatives au processus d’accréditation et de renouvellement de l’accréditation d’un OAE sont spécifiées dans le document du Groupe CSA PCP-09, Guide d’accréditation des opérateurs d’appareil d’exposition. Ce guide a été produit par le Groupe CSA en collaboration avec un comité d’experts représentant l’industrie de la gammagraphie, la CCSN et d’autres ministères du gouvernement. Le guide, ainsi que des renseignements supplémentaires sur les OAE et l’accréditation d’OAE, est disponible sur le site Web de la CCSN.

Référence

  1. Groupe CSA, PCP-09, Guide d’accréditation des opérateurs d’appareil d’exposition

Séries de documents d'application de la réglementation de la CCSN

Les installations et activités du secteur nucléaire du Canada sont réglementées par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN). En plus de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et de ses règlements d'application, il pourrait y avoir des exigences en matière de conformité à d'autres outils de réglementation, comme les documents d'application de la réglementation ou les normes.

Depuis avril 2013, la collection des documents d’application de la réglementation actuels et prévus comporte trois grandes catégories et vingt-cinq séries, selon la structure ci-dessous. Les documents d’application de la réglementation préparés par la CCSN font partie de l’une des séries suivantes :

  • 1.0 Installations et activités réglementées
  • Séries 1.1 Installations dotées de réacteurs
    • 1.2 Installations de catégorie IB
    • 1.3 Mines et usines de concentration d'uranium
    • 1.4 Installations de catégorie II
    • 1.5 Homologation d'équipement réglementé
    • 1.6 Substances nucléaires et appareils à rayonnement
  • 2.0 Domaines de sûreté et de réglementation
  • Séries 2.1 Système de gestion
    • 2.2 Gestion du rendement humain
    • 2.3 Conduite de l'exploitation
    • 2.4 Analyse de la sûreté
    • 2.5 Conception matérielle
    • 2.6 Aptitude fonctionnelle
    • 2.7 Radioprotection
    • 2.8 Santé et sécurité classiques
    • 2.9 Protection de l'environnement
    • 2.10 Gestion des urgences et protection-incendie
    • 2.11 Gestion des déchets
    • 2.12 Sécurité
    • 2.13 Garanties et non-prolifération
    • 2.14 Emballage et transport
  • 3.0 Autres domaines de réglementation
  • Séries 3.1 Exigences relatives à la production de rapports
    • 3.2 Mobilisation du public et des Autochtones
    • 3.3 Garanties financières
    • 3.4 Délibérations de la Commission
    • 3.5 Processus et pratiques de la CCSN
    • 3.6 Glossaire de termes de la CCSN

Remarque : Les séries de documents d'application de la réglementation pourraient être modifiées périodiquement par la CCSN. Chaque série susmentionnée pourrait comprendre de nombreux documents d'application de la réglementation. Pour obtenir la plus récente liste de documents d'application de la réglementation, veuillez consulter le site Web de la CCSN à site Web de la CCSN.

Dernière mise à jour :