Regulatory Action – Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2019

June 24, 2019

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has issued an order to Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited, a company based in St. John's, Newfoundland. The company holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, import, use and storage of fixed nuclear gauges that contain nuclear substances for the purpose of controlling industrial processes.

The order was issued on June 18, 2019, following a CNSC inspection at the licensee's facility located in Long Harbour, Newfoundland. The inspection identified that the company was not complying with a licence condition with respect to procedures for entering vessels fitted with radiation devices. The inspection also identified instances of non-compliance related to worker training and the ascertainment of doses to workers entering vessels fitted with radiation devices.

The order requires the licensee to immediately cease worker entry into any vessels fitted with radiation devices until the following actions have been fulfilled to the written satisfaction of the CNSC:

  • appropriate training is developed for workers entering vessels fitted with radiation devices
  • a system is in place to ensure that all workers entering such vessels have received the required training
  • documentation related to vessel entry meets licence conditions

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire — Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2019

24 juin 2019

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited, une entreprise établie à St. John's (Terre-Neuve) et titulaire d'un permis de la CCSN l'autorisant à posséder, transférer, importer, utiliser et entreposer des jauges nucléaires fixes qui contiennent des substances nucléaires à des fins de contrôle de procédés industriels.

L'ordre a été délivré le 18 juin 2019 à la suite d'une inspection de la CCSN à l'installation du titulaire de permis située à Long Harbour (Terre-Neuve). L'inspection a permis de relever que l'entreprise ne respectait pas une condition de permis relative aux procédures d'entrée dans des cuves munies d'appareils à rayonnement. L'inspection a aussi permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés à la formation des travailleurs et à la détermination des doses aux travailleurs qui entrent dans ce genre de cuve.

L'ordre exige que le titulaire de permis interdise immédiatement aux travailleurs d'entrer dans les cuves munies d'appareils à rayonnement jusqu'à ce que les mesures suivantes soient prises à la satisfaction (par écrit) de la CCSN :

  • un programme de formation adéquat soit développé pour les travailleurs qui entrent dans des cuves munies d'appareils à rayonnement
  • un système soit en place pour veiller à ce que tous les travailleurs qui entrent dans les cuves aient reçu la formation appropriée
  • la documentation liée à l'entrée dans des cuves respecte les conditions de permis

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l'environnement.

Dernière mise à jour :