Regulatory action – Union Street Geotechnical Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2019

May 30, 2019

On May 30, 2019, the CNSC confirmed that union Street Geotechnical Ltd. has complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on May 28, 2019. CNSC staff reviewed the corrective measures implemented by the company and found these measures to be satisfactory.

May 28, 2019

Order to Union Street Geotechnical Ltd.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has issued an order to Union Street Geotechnical Ltd., a company based in Red Deer, Alberta. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges for the purpose of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC field inspection in Red Deer, Alberta. The inspection revealed that the worker operating the portable nuclear gauge was not following company procedures and was not operating in accordance with regulatory requirements. The inspection also identified non-compliances related to the security of the portable nuclear gauge used at the work site.

The order requires the licensee to prohibit the worker from operating portable nuclear gauges until such time as the worker has received effective training in radiation safety and in the safe use of portable nuclear gauges to the CNSC’s satisfaction, and that all items of non-compliance identified in the inspection report have been corrected.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Read the order (PDF)

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – Union Street Geotechnical Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2019

30 mai 2019

Le 30 mai 2019, la CCSN a confirmé que Union Street Geotechnical Ltd. s’était conformée à toutes les modalités de l’ordre qui lui avait été délivré le 28 mai 2019. Le personnel de la CCSN a examiné les mesures correctives appliquées par l’entreprise et a jugée qu’elles étaient satisfaisantes.

28 mai 2019

Ordre délivré à Union Street Geotechnical Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à Union Street Geotechnical Ltd., une entreprise établie à Red Deer (Alberta) titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorise à posséder, transférer, utiliser et entreposer des jauges nucléaires portatives servant à mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN sur le site de Red Deer (Alberta). L’inspection a permis de relever que le travailleur utilisant la jauge nucléaire portative ne suivait pas les procédures de l’entreprise et n’utilisait pas la jauge en respectant les exigences réglementaires. Des cas de non-conformité liés à la sécurité de la jauge sur les lieux de travail ont aussi été constatés.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis interdise au travailleur d’utiliser des jauges nucléaires portatives jusqu’à ce qu’il ait reçu une formation efficace en matière de radioprotection et d’utilisation sécuritaire de jauges nucléaires portatives jugée satisfaisante par la CCSN et que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés dans le rapport d’inspection de la CCSN soient corrigés.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.

Lire l’ordre (PDF)

Dernière mise à jour :