Regulatory action – Tomlinson Enterprises Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2016

March 16, 2016

Update on regulatory action issued to Tomlinson Enterprises Ltd.

On March 16, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that Tomlinson Enterprises Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on March 11, 2016. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

March 11, 2016

Order to Tomlinson Enterprises Ltd.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on March 11, 2016 to Tomlinson Enterprises Ltd., a company based in Sarnia, ON, that provides testing services to the industrial sector. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession and use of nuclear substances contained in industrial radiography exposure devices, for the purpose of materials testing.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at a worksite in Sarnia. The inspection identified non-compliances related to the implementation of the licensee’s radiation protection program, including providing required training to workers and appropriately maintaining exposure devices. The order prohibits Tomlinson Enterprises Ltd. from operating its exposure devices until it implements corrective measures and addresses all non-compliances.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – Tomlinson Enterprises Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

16 mars 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Tomlinson Enterprises Ltd.

Le 16 mars 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que Tomlinson Enterprises Ltd. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 11 mars 2016. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

11 mars 2016

Ordre délivré à Tomlinson Enterprises Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 11 mars 2016 à Tomlinson Enterprises Ltd., une entreprise établie à Sarnia (Ontario) qui fournit des services d’essai au secteur industriel. L’entreprise est actuellement titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder et à utiliser les substances nucléaires contenues dans les appareils de gammagraphie industrielle servant à la mise à l’essai des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN à un lieu de travail à Sarnia. L’inspection a relevé des cas de non-conformité liés à la mise en œuvre du programme de radioprotection du titulaire de permis, y compris la prestation aux travailleurs de formation requise et l’entretien approprié des appareils d’exposition. L’ordre interdit à Tomlinson Enterprises Ltd. d’utiliser ses appareils d’exposition jusqu’à ce qu’elle mette en œuvre des mesures correctives et règle tous les cas de non-conformité.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.