Regulatory action – Sable Sand Solutions Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2017

June 20, 2017

Update on order issued to Sable Sand Solutions Inc.

On June 20, 2017, the CNSC confirmed that Sable Sand Solutions Inc. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on May 24, 2017. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

May 30, 2017

Order issued to Sable Sand Solutions Inc.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it had issued an order on May 24, 2017 to Sable Sand Solutions Inc., a company that provides sand separators to the oil and gas industry based in Calgary, AB. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, use, transfer and storage of fixed gauges.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the company’s Calgary location. The inspection identified non-compliances with regard to the management of the radiation protection program. The inspection also found workers that were inadequately trained in the company’s policies and procedures had performed activities authorized under conditions of the licence.

The order requires the licensee to cease all use and/or transport of radiation devices until such time that it can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the CNSC that there is adequate management oversight and control over the radiation protection program and that all items of non-compliance identified in the inspection report are corrected.

Read the order (PDF)

Mesure réglementaire – Sable Sand Solutions Inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN)et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d’action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l’environnement.

2017

20 juin 2017

Mise à jour sur l’ordre délivré à Sable Sand Solutions Inc.

Le 20 juin 2017, la CCSN a confirmé que Sable Sand Solutions Inc. avait respecté toutes les modalités de l’ordre qui lui avait été délivré le 24 mai 2017. Les mesures correctives appliquées par l’entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

30 mai 2017

Ordre délivré à Sable Sand Solutions Inc.

Aujourd’hui, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 24 mai 2017 à Sable Sand Solutions Inc., une entreprise établie à Calgary (Alberta) qui fournit des séparateurs de sable à l’industrie pétrolière et gazière. L’entreprise est titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder, à utiliser, à transférer et à entreposer des jauges fixes.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN sur le site de l’entreprise, à Calgary. L’inspection a permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés à la gestion du programme de radioprotection. De plus, il a été constaté que des travailleurs qui n’avaient pas reçu une formation adéquate sur les politiques et les procédures de l’entreprise avaient réalisé des activités autorisées en vertu des conditions du permis.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis cesse d’utiliser ou de transporter tous les appareils à rayonnement jusqu’à ce qu’il puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que la direction exerce une surveillance et un contrôle appropriés sur le programme de radioprotection et que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés dans le rapport d’inspection ont été corrigés.

Lire l’ordre (PDF)