Regulatory action – PML Inspection Services Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.


March 21, 2016

Update on regulatory action issued to PML Inspection Services Ltd.

On March 21, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that PML Inspection Services Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on March 10, 2016. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

March 10, 2016

Order to PML Inspection Services Ltd.

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced that it issued an order on March 10, 2016 to PML Inspection Services Ltd., a company based in Fort Saskatchewan, AB, that provides testing services to the industrial sector. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession and use of nuclear substances contained in industrial radiography exposure devices, for the purpose of materials testing.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at a worksite in Fort Saskatchewan. The inspection identified non-compliances related to the implementation of the licensee’s radiation protection program, including providing required safety equipment to workers and performing appropriate maintenance of its exposure devices. The order prohibits PML Inspection Services Ltd. from operating its exposure devices until it implements corrective measures and addresses all non-compliances.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – PML Inspection Services Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

21 mars 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de PML Inspection Services Ltd.

Le 21 mars 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que PML Inspection Services Ltd. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 10 mars 2016. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

10 mars 2016

Ordre délivré à PML Inspection Services Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 10 mars 2016 à PML Inspection Services Ltd., une entreprise établie à Fort Saskatchewan (Alberta) qui fournit des services d’essai au secteur industriel. L’entreprise est actuellement titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder et à utiliser les substances nucléaires contenues dans les appareils de gammagraphie industrielle servant à la mise à l’essai des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN à un lieu de travail à Fort Saskatchewan. L’inspection a relevé des cas de non-conformité liés à la mise en œuvre du programme de radioprotection du titulaire de permis, y compris la fourniture aux travailleurs de l’équipement de sécurité requis et l’entretien approprié des appareils d’exposition. L’ordre interdit à PML Inspection Services Ltd. d’utiliser ses appareils d’exposition jusqu’à ce qu’elle mette en œuvre les mesures correctives et règle tous les cas de non-conformité.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.