Regulatory action – Peterson Contracting Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2018

August 24, 2018

Update on regulatory action issued to Peterson Contracting Ltd.

On August 24, 2018, the CNSC confirmed that Peterson Contracting Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on July 31, 2018. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

July 31, 2018

Order issued to Peterson Contracting Ltd.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has issued an order to Peterson Contracting Ltd., a company based in Williams Lake, British Columbia. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the licensee’s Williams Lake facility. The inspection identified non-compliances with the implementation and management oversight of the radiation protection program. Additionally, the inspection also identified non-compliances with the maintenance of records required by the CNSC as well as regulatory requirements for the transportation of the nuclear gauges.

The order requires the licensee to place its portable nuclear gauges into storage and prohibits the company from using or transporting nuclear gauges until it can demonstrate to the CNSC that an effective radiation protection program has been implemented, and it complies with all regulatory requirements.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – Peterson Contracting Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2018

24 août 2018

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Peterson Contracting Ltd.

Le 24 août 2018, la CCSN a confirmé que Peterson Contracting Ltd. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 31 juillet 2018. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

31 juillet 2018

Ordre délivré à Peterson Contracting Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à Peterson Contracting Ltd., une compagnie établie à Williams Lake (Colombie-Britannique). La compagnie est actuellement titulaire d'un permis de la CCSN qui l'autorise à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à stocker des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L'ordre a été délivré à la suite d'une inspection de la CCSN réalisée à l'installation de la compagnie à Williams Lake. L'inspection a permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés à la mise en œuvre et à la surveillance du programme de radioprotection par la direction. L'inspection a également permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés à la tenue de dossiers dont la CCSN a besoin, ainsi qu'aux exigences réglementaires portant sur le transport des jauges nucléaires.

L'ordre exige que le titulaire de permis entrepose ses jauges nucléaires portatives et interdit à la compagnie d'utiliser ou de transporter des jauges nucléaires jusqu'à ce qu'il soit démontré à la CCSN qu'un programme de radioprotection efficace a été mis en place et que la compagnie respecte l'ensemble des exigences réglementaires.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité du public et des travailleurs et de protéger l'environnement.

Dernière mise à jour :