Regulatory action – Parkland Geotechnical Consulting Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2018

September 7, 2018

Update on regulatory action issued to Parkland Geotechnical Consulting Ltd.

On September 7, 2018, the CNSC confirmed that Parkland Geotechnical Consulting Ltd had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on August 30, 2018. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

August 30, 2018

Order issued to Parkland Geotechnical Consulting Ltd.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has issued an order to Parkland Geotechnical Consulting Ltd., a company based in Red Deer, Alberta. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC field inspection in Crowsnest Pass, Alberta. The inspection identified non-compliances with the CNSC requirement that radiation detection equipment be available in proximity of the licensee's job sites.

The order requires the licensee to cease operations of a nuclear portable gauge, by one of its workers, at a job site in Crowsnest Pass, until such time that the emergency equipment is available within CNSC-required time frames.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

 

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – Parkland Geotechnical Consulting Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2018

7 septembre 2018

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Parkland Geotechnical Consulting Ltd.

Le 7 septembre 2018, la CCSN a confirmé que Parkland Geotechnical Consulting Ltd. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 30 août 2018. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

30 août 2018

Ordre délivré à Parkland Geotechnical Consulting Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à Parkland Geotechnical Consulting Ltd., une entreprise établie à Red Deer (Alberta) titulaire d'un permis de la CCSN l'autorisant à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à entreposer des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L'ordre a été délivré à la suite d'une inspection sur le terrain effectuée par la CCSN à Crowsnest Pass (Alberta). L'inspection a permis de relever des cas de non-conformité liés à une exigence de la CCSN stipulant que des radiamètres doivent être disponibles près des sites de travail du titulaire de permis.

L'ordre exige que le titulaire de permis interdise à un de ses employés d'utiliser une jauge nucléaire portative sur un site à Crowsnest Pass jusqu'à ce que l'équipement d'urgence soit disponible dans les délais exigés par la CCSN.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l'environnement.

Dernière mise à jour :