Regulatory action – Ontario Ministry of Northern Development and Mines

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment. 

2016

January 27, 2016

Order to the Ontario Ministry of Northern Development and Mines

On January 27, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that the Ontario Ministry of Northern Development and Mines had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on December 16, 2015. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

2015

December 16, 2015

Order to the Ontario Ministry of Northern Development and Mines

Today, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) announced it had issued an order to the Ontario Ministry of Northern Development and Mines. This provincial government agency is currently directing activities related to the implementation of an environmental remediation plan for First Nickel Inc.’s Lockerby Mine site, located near Sudbury, ON. First Nickel Inc. was previously licensed by the CNSC to possess and use fixed nuclear gauges in the mine’s backfill plant.

The order was issued on December 9, 2015, after a CNSC inspection identified a lack of radiation safety and security measures on site for the nuclear gauges. The CNSC also identified a lack of regulatory control over the nuclear gauges, and to date, no person has applied for the appropriate licence to possess the gauges.

The order requires the Ministry of Northern Development and Mines to begin making immediate arrangements to transfer the nuclear gauges to a CNSC-licensed recipient. It also requires the Ministry of Northern Development and Mines to put in to place specific measures for the safety and security of the gauges while they are in its care and control.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health, safety, and security of the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines de l’Ontario

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

27 janvier 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines de l’Ontario

Le 27 janvier 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que le ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines de l’Ontario s'était conformé à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 16 décembre 2015. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

2015

16 décembre 2015

Ordre délivré au ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines de l’Ontario

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle avait délivré un ordre au ministère du Développement du Nord et des mines de l’Ontario. Ce dernier est actuellement responsable des activités liées à la mise en œuvre d’un plan de restauration de l’environnement pour le site de la mine Lockerby, exploité par First Nickel Inc., situé à Sudbury (Ontario). First Nickel Inc. était auparavant titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN pour posséder et utiliser des jauges nucléaires fixes dans son installation de matériaux de remblayage.

L’ordre a été délivré le 9 décembre 2015 à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN, qui a relevé un manque de mesures de radioprotection et de sécurité visant les jauges nucléaires sur le site. La CCSN a également constaté que les mesures de contrôle réglementaire connexes étaient insuffisantes et que personne n’avait à ce moment soumis une demande de permis approprié pour posséder les jauges.

L’ordre exige que le ministère du Développement du Nord et des mines de l’Ontario fasse immédiatement le nécessaire pour transférer les jauges nucléaires à un récipiendaire autorisé par la CCSN. Il exige également que le Ministère mette en place des mesures précises pour assurer la sûreté et la sécurité des jauges jusqu’à leur transfert.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité du public et de protéger l’environnement.