Regulatory action – Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.


May 18, 2016

Update on regulatory action issued to Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd.

On May 18, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on November 18, 2015. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

February 11, 2016

Update on regulatory action issued to Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd.

On February 10, 2016, the CNSC confirmed that the AMP issued to Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd. on February 4, 2016 has been paid. The CNSC now considers this AMP closed.

Order and administrative monetary penalty issued to Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd.

Today, the CNSC announced that it had issue an order on November 18, 2015 to Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd. The company is based in Mississauga, ON, and offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. It currently holds a CNSC licence that authorizes the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at a work site near Aurora, ON. The inspection identified non-compliances related to the security of a portable nuclear gauge used at the work site. The inspection also identified that the worker operating the portable nuclear gauge was not adequately trained and did not take reasonable steps to secure the gauge while on a job site.

The order requires the worker to immediately cease the use of portable nuclear gauges until the licensee can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that the worker is adequately trained to use portable nuclear gauges.

The CNSC requires that these measures be taken to protect the health and safety of workers and the public, as well as the environment.

On February 4, 2016, the CNSC also issued an administrative monetary penalty (AMP) to Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd. in the amount of $3,730. The licensee failed to keep radiation exposure to persons as low as reasonably achievable through the implementation of management control over work practices. This resulted in failure to comply with paragraph 4(a)(i) of the Radiation Protection Regulations.

Mesure réglementaire – Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2016

18 mai 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd.

Le 18 mai 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 18 novembre 2015. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

11 février 2016

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd.

Le 10 février 2016, la CCSN a confirmé que la SAP imposée à Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd. le 4 février 2016 avait été payée. La CCSN considère que le dossier de cette SAP est maintenant clos.

Ordre et sanction administrative pécuniaire imposés à Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd.

Aujourd’hui, la CCSN a annoncé qu’elle avait délivré un ordre le 18 novembre 2015 à Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd., une entreprise établie à Mississauga (Ontario) qui offre des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux. L’entreprise est actuellement titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à stocker des jauges nucléaires portatives.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN sur un site près d’Aurora (Ontario). L’inspection a relevé des cas de non-conformité liés à la sécurité d’une jauge nucléaire portative utilisée sur le site. De plus, l’inspecteur a constaté que le travailleur utilisant cette jauge n’avait pas reçu une formation adéquate et n’avait pas pris des mesures raisonnables pour l’utilisation sécuritaire de la jauge sur le site.

L’ordre exige que le travailleur cesse immédiatement d’utiliser des jauges nucléaires portatives jusqu’à ce que le titulaire de permis puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que celui-ci a reçu la formation nécessaire.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.

Le 4 février 2016, la CCSN a également imposé une sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) de 3 730 $ à Nasiruddin Engineering Ltd. Le titulaire de permis n’a pas maintenu le degré d’exposition des personnes au rayonnement au niveau le plus bas qu’il soit raisonnablement possible d’atteindre par la maîtrise des méthodes de travail par la direction, en violation de l’alinéa 4(a)(i) du Règlement sur la radioprotection.