Regulatory Action – Medagh Industrial Recycling Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the CNSC to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2020

January 16, 2020

Order issued to Medagh Industrial Recycling Ltd.

The CNSC has issued an order to Medagh Industrial Recycling Ltd., a company based in Concord, Ontario. The company previously held a CNSC licence that expired on December 31, 2019, which authorized the company to possess, transfer and store X-ray fluorescence (XRF) analyzers for the purposes of determining the elemental composition of materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the company’s Concord facility on January 16, 2020. The inspection identified that the company was still in possession of its XRF analyzer without holding a valid CNSC licence authorizing the company to do so. Prior to the expiry of the company’s licence, the CNSC informed the company of the expiry date and that the company must either renew its licence or be required to dispose or transfer its XRF analyzer to a company that is authorized to possess the device, prior to January 1, 2020. The company failed to take appropriate measures to meet this requirement.

The order prohibits the company from using its XRF analyzer and requires the company to transfer its XRF analyzer to another company authorized by the CNSC to possess such a device by no later than close of business day, January 23, 2020.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire — Medagh Industrial Recycling Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la CCSN afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2020

16 janvier 2020

Ordre délivré à Medagh Industrial Recycling Ltd.

La CCSN a délivré un ordre à Medagh Industrial Recycling Ltd., une entreprise établie à Concord (Ontario). L’entreprise était titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN qui l’autorisait à posséder, à transférer et à entreposer des appareils d’analyse par fluorescence X qui servent à déterminer la composition élémentaire de matériaux. Le permis a expiré le 31 décembre 2019.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection qu’a effectuée la CCSN aux installations de l’entreprise le 16 janvier 2020. L’inspection a permis de constater que l’entreprise possède toujours son appareil d’analyse par fluorescence X, sans pour autant avoir un permis valide de la CCSN. Avant l’expiration du permis, la CCSN avait informé l’entreprise de la date d’expiration et qu’elle devait renouveler son permis, éliminer l’appareil, ou encore le transférer à une entreprise autorisée à posséder l’appareil, et ce, au plus tard le 1er janvier 2020. L’entreprise n’a pas pris les mesures appropriées pour respecter cette exigence.

L’ordre interdit à l’entreprise d’utiliser son appareil d’analyse par fluorescence X. Medagh Industrial Recycling Ltd. doit transférer l’appareil à une autre entreprise autorisée par la CCSN à posséder un tel appareil, et ce, au plus tard à la fin de la journée du 23 janvier 2020.

La CCSN exige ces mesures afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.

Dernière mise à jour :