Regulatory action – Elekta Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2015

December 16, 2015

Update on regulatory action issued to Elekta Inc.

On December 16, 2015, the CNSC confirmed that Elekta Inc. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on November 9, 2015. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

November 9, 2015

Order to Elekta, Inc.

On November 9, 2015, the CNSC issued an order to Elekta, Inc., a company based in Atlanta, Georgia, USA. The licensee holds a Class II prescribed equipment independent service provider licence. A licence to service Class II prescribed equipment is required for the installation, upgrade and maintenance of prescribed equipment. Under this licence, Elekta, Inc. is authorized to service such equipment typically installed in radiation therapy clinics throughout Canada.

The order was issued following a notification by the licensee that they had performed unauthorized installation and upgrades of Class II prescribed equipment, rendering it uncertified and therefore contrary to section 10(a) of the Class II Nuclear Facilities and Prescribed Equipment Regulations. The order directed Elekta, Inc. to immediately stop installation of uncertified configurations of medical linear accelerators, stop performing upgrades, apply for certification of their equipment to reflect new upgraded configurations, establish procedures for performing the upgrades in Canada, notify the CNSC of locations where the installations had taken place in Canada and notify the affected Canadian operators.

The prescribed equipment had been operated in a manner that posed no risk to the health and safety of workers, the public or the environment.

The licensee has since complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

The inspector’s findings also resulted in an administrative monetary penalty (AMP). The CNSC issued the AMP to Elekta, Inc. in the amount of $15,820 because of the licensee’s failure to comply with section 10(a) of the Class II Nuclear Facilities and Prescribed Equipment Regulations and because this is their second violation related to use of uncertified equipment. The previous order (Order 837) was issued to Elekta, Inc. on June 1, 2010. It was the CNSC’s belief that, without strong regulatory action, the violation would recur in the future.

The CNSC confirms that the AMP issued to Elekta, Inc. has been paid and is now considered closed.

2010

June 11, 2010

Update to regulatory action issued on June 1, 2010 to Elekta Inc. and Southlake Regional Health Centre

The CNSC confirms that as of June 9, 2010, Elekta Inc., a manufacturer of medical linear accelerators based in Norcross, Georgia, USA and the Southlake Regional Health Centre in Newmarket, Ontario had complied with all the terms and conditions of the orders issued to them by CNSC inspectors. The orders were issued on June 1, 2010 in relation to the Elekta Infinity brand linear accelerator, which had not been certified by the CNSC.

The CNSC has issued a Class II prescribed equipment certificate for the Elekta Infinity accelerator and amended the licence issued to Elekta Inc. to permit servicing on the newly-certified accelerator. The CNSC has also amended the licences issued to the Southlake Regional Health Centre to authorize the operation and servicing of the newly certified Elekta Infinity accelerator at this facility.

June 1, 2010

Order to Elekta Inc.

On June 1, 2010, the CNSC issued an order to Elekta Inc., a manufacturer of medical linear accelerators based in Norcross, Georgia, USA. The order requires that Elekta immediately suspend sales and services in Canada of the Elekta Infinity brand linear accelerator and submit to the CNSC by June 2, 2010 an application for the certification of the Elekta Infinity model accelerator. Further, the order requires that Elekta limit its servicing activities related the Elekta Infinity linear accelerator to those interventions that, if not carried out, could compromise the health and safety of patients or operators.

Mesure réglementaire — Elekta Inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2015

16 décembre 2015

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre d’Elekta Inc.

Le 16 décembre 2015, la CCSN a confirmé qu’Elekta Inc. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 9 novembre 2015. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

9 novembre 2015

Ordre délivré à Elekta, Inc.

Le 9 novembre 2015, la CCSN a délivré un ordre à Elekta, Inc., une entreprise établie à Atlanta, en Géorgie (États-Unis). Elle est titulaire d’un permis de fournisseur de services d’entretien indépendant (équipement réglementé de catégorie II). Ce genre de permis est requis pour l’installation, la mise à niveau et l’entretien d’équipement réglementé. En vertu de ce permis, Elekta, Inc. est autorisée à entretenir l’équipement installé habituellement dans des cliniques de radiothérapie partout au Canada.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’un avis du titulaire de permis à l’effet qu’il avait procédé à l’installation et à la mise à niveau d’équipement réglementé de catégorie II, annulant l’homologation de ce dernier et contrevenant au paragraphe 10a) du Règlement sur les installations nucléaires et l’équipement réglementé de catégorie II. L’ordre exige qu’Elekta, Inc. cesse immédiatement d’installer des accélérateurs linéaires médicaux dont les configurations ne sont pas homologuées, arrête de mettre les appareils à niveau et soumette une demande d’homologation des appareils afin de tenir compte des nouvelles configurations, établisse des procédures pour la réalisation des mises à niveau au Canada, avise la CCSN des endroits où les installations ont été effectuées au Canada et aviser les exploitants canadiens touchés.

L’équipement réglementé avait été utilisé de manière qui n’a posé aucun impact sur la santé et la sûreté des travailleurs, du public ou de l’environnement.

Le titulaire de permis s’est depuis conformé à toutes les modalités de l’ordre. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l’entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

Les constatations de l’inspectrice ont également entraîné l’imposition d’une sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP). La CCSN a imposé à Elekta, Inc. une SAP de 15 820 $ en raison du manquement du titulaire de permis au paragraphe 10a) du Règlement sur les installations nucléaires et l’équipement réglementé de catégorie II et puisqu’il s’agit de sa deuxième infraction liée à l’utilisation d’équipement non homologué. Un ordre (numéro 837) avait déjà été délivré à Elekta, Inc. le 1er juin 2010. La CCSN était d’avis qu’il fallait imposer des mesures réglementaires rigoureuses afin que cette situation ne se reproduise pas.

La CCSN a confirmé qu’Elekta, Inc. a payé la sanction qui lui a été imposée et que le dossier de cette SAP est maintenant clos.

2010

11 juin 2010

Mise à jour sur les mesures réglementaires délivrées à Elekta Inc. et au Centre de santé régional Southlake

La CCSN confirme qu'au 9 juin 2010, Elekta Inc., un fabricant d'accélérateurs linéaires médicaux dont le siège social se trouve à Norcross (Géorgie), aux États-Unis, et le centre de santé régional Southlake, situé à Newmarket (Ontario), se sont conformés à toutes les modalités et conditions des ordres qui leur ont été délivrés par les inspecteurs de la CCSN. Les ordres ont été délivrés le 1er juin 2010 et visaient le modèle d'accélérateur linéaire Elekta Infinity, qui n'était pas homologué par la CCSN.

La CCSN a délivré une homologation pour de l'équipement réglementé de catégorie II concernant le modèle d'accélérateur Elekta Infinity, et a modifié le permis délivré à Elekta Inc. afin de permettre l'entretien de l'accélérateur nouvellement homologué. La CCSN a également modifié les permis délivrés au centre de santé régional Southlake, afin d'autoriser l'exploitation et l'entretien de l'accélérateur Elekta Infinity nouvellement homologué à cet emplacement.

1er juin 2010

Ordre délivré à Elekta Inc.

Le 1er juin 2010, la CCSN a délivré un ordre à Elekta Inc., un fabricant d'accélérateurs linéaires médicaux dont le siège social se trouve à Norcross (Géorgie), aux États-Unis. L'ordre exige qu'Elekta suspende immédiatement la vente de l'accélérateur linéaire de marque Elekta Infinity au Canada ainsi que la prestation de services connexes, et que la société présente à la CCSN, d'ici le 2 juin 2010, une demande d'homologation pour le modèle d'accélérateur Elekta Infinity. De plus, l'ordre exige qu'Elekta restreigne ses activités de prestation de services relatifs à l'accélérateur linéaire Elekta Infinity à celles qui, si elles n'étaient pas effectuées, pourraient mettre en péril la santé et la sécurité des patients ou des exploitants.