Regulatory action – Alpha Adroit Engineering Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2019

May 7, 2019

Update to regulatory action issued to Alpha Adroit Engineering Ltd.

On May 7, 2019, the CNSC confirmed that Alpha Adroit Engineering Ltd. has complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on April 25, 2019. CNSC staff reviewed the corrective measures implemented by the company and found these measures to be satisfactory.

April 25, 2019

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has issued an order to Alpha Adroit Engineering Ltd., a company based in Edmonton, Alberta. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges for the purpose of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued after the company had failed to provide the CNSC with satisfactory corrective actions for the instances of non-compliance observed during a CNSC inspection that was conducted on March 13, 2019 in Edmonton, Alberta. The inspection identified that the company was not complying with regulatory requirements related to ascertainment of doses, device labelling, and maintenance of records required by the CNSC. It was also found that the company was not complying with regulatory requirements for the transportation of the nuclear gauges.

The order requires the licensee to cease all use and transportation of its radiation devices and to immediately place all of its portable nuclear gauges into secure storage. The licensee is required to take these measures until it can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that there is an effective radiation protection program in place and that all items of non-compliance identified in the inspection report for the March 2019 inspection have been corrected.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Read the order (PDF)

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – Alpha Adroit Engineering Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2019

7 mai 2019

Mise à jour sur la mesure réglementaire imposée à Alpha Adroit Engineering Ltd.

Le 7 mai 2019, la CCSN a confirmé que Alpha Adroit Engineering Ltd. s’était conformée à toutes les modalités de l’ordre qui lui avait été délivré le 25 avril 2019. Le personnel de la CCSN a examiné les mesures correctives appliquées par l’entreprise et a jugée qu’elles étaient satisfaisantes.

25 avril 2019

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à Alpha Adroit Engineering Ltd., une entreprise établie à Edmonton (Alberta) titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à entreposer des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré après que l’entreprise a omis d’appliquer des mesures correctives jugées satisfaisantes par la CCSN pour régler les cas de non-conformité décelés lors d’une inspection de la CCSN le 13 mars 2019 à Edmonton (Alberta). L’inspection a permis de déterminer que l’entreprise ne se conformait pas aux exigences réglementaires liées à la détermination des doses, l’étiquetage des appareils, l’entretien des dossiers requis par la CCSN. Il a aussi été constaté que l’entreprise ne respectait pas les exigences réglementaires liées au transport des jauges nucléaires.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis cesse d’utiliser et de transporter tous ses appareils à rayonnement et de placer immédiatement ses jauges nucléaires portatives en stockage sûr. Ces mesures restent en vigueur jusqu’à ce que le titulaire de permis puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, qu’il a mis en place un programme de radioprotection efficace et que tous les cas de non-conformité relevés dans le rapport de l’inspection de mars 2019 ont été corrigés.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.

Lire l’ordre (PDF)

Dernière mise à jour :