Regulatory Action – Qualitest Canada Ltd.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act (NSCA) and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2018

March 26, 2018

Update on regulatory action issued to Qualitest Canada Ltd.

On March 26, 2018, the CNSC confirmed that Qualitest Canada Ltd. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on March 8, 2018. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

March 8, 2018

Order issued to Qualitest Canada Ltd.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has issued an order to Qualitest Canada Ltd., a company based in Nisku, Alberta. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, import, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the licensee’s Nisku, Alberta, facility. The inspection identified non-compliances with management oversight of the radiation protection program. Additionally, non-compliances regarding prescribed records and the maintenance of radiation instrumentation required by the CNSC were identified.

The order requires the licensee to place its portable nuclear gauge into storage until it can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that there are effective management controls over the radiation protection program and that all non-compliances identified in the inspection report have been corrected.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – Qualitest Canada Ltd.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2018

26 mars 2018

Mise à jour au sujet d'une mesure réglementaire à l'encontre de Qualitest Canada Ltd.

Le 26 mars 2018, la CCSN a confirmé que Qualitest Canada Inc. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 8 mars 2018. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

8 mars 2018

Ordre délivré à Qualitest Canada Ltd.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à Qualitest Canada Ltd., une entreprise établie à Nisku (Alberta) titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder, à transférer, à importer, à utiliser et à entreposer des jauges nucléaires portatives servant à mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection de la CCSN à l’installation de Nisku (Alberta) du titulaire de permis. L’inspection a permis de relever des non-conformités liées à la surveillance, par la direction, du programme de radioprotection ainsi qu’aux exigences de la CCSN relatives aux documents réglementés et à l’entretien des instruments de détection du rayonnement.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis entrepose sa jauge nucléaire portative jusqu’à ce qu’il puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, que la direction exerce un contrôle efficace sur le programme de radioprotection et que les non-conformités relevées dans le rapport d’inspection ont été corrigées.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sûreté des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l’environnement.

Dernière mise à jour :