Regulatory action – ARLANXEO Canada Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment.

2018

March 20, 2018

Order and administrative monetary penalty issued to ARLANXEO Canada Inc.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) issued an order to ARLANXEO Canada Inc., a company based in Sarnia, Ontario. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, import, export, use and storage of fixed nuclear gauges.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the licensee's Sarnia facility. The inspection identified non-compliances regarding entry into vessels with mounted fixed gauges. The inspection also identified non-compliances with the maintenance of records required by the CNSC.

Under the order, the licensee must cease all vessel entries until it can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the CNSC that a system consistent with submitted procedures and CNSC requirements is implemented for maintaining records of all vessel entries, and that workers who perform vessel entries are trained on the associated procedures and record-keeping requirements.

The CNSC requires these measures in order to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

On March 29, 2018, the CNSC confirmed that ARLANEXEO Canada Inc. had complied with all the terms and conditions of the order issued on March 20, 2018. The corrective measures implemented by the company were reviewed and found to be satisfactory by CNSC staff.

On April 23, 2018, the CNSC also issued an administrative monetary penalty to ARLANXEA Canada Inc. in the amount of $7,930. The licensee failed to comply with a condition of their licence in violation of paragraph 48(c) of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act, related to licence condition 2052-3 concerning vessel entry.

Date modified:

Mesure réglementaire – ARLANXEO Canada Inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (LSRN) et des règlements y afférents, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2018

20 mars, 2018

Ordre et sanction administrative pécuniaire imposés à ARLANXEO Canada Inc.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à ARLANXEO Canada Inc., une entreprise établie à Sarnia (Ontario) titulaire d'un permis de la CCSN l'autorisant à posséder, transférer, importer, utiliser et entreposer des jauges nucléaires fixes.

L'ordre a été délivré à la suite d'une inspection de la CCSN à l'installation de Sarnia du titulaire de permis. L'inspection a permis de relever des non-conformités liées à l'entrée dans des cuves équipées de jauges fixes ainsi qu'à la conservation de la documentation exigée par la CCSN.

L'ordre exige que le titulaire de permis cesse d'entrer dans les cuves jusqu’à ce qu'il puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, qu'un système conforme aux procédures approuvées et aux exigences de la CCSN est en place pour consigner les données sur toutes les entrées dans les cuves, et que les travailleurs qui entrent dans les cuves ont reçu de la formation sur les procédures connexes et les exigences relatives à la documentation.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sûreté des travailleurs et du public et de protéger l'environnement.

Le 29 mars 2018, la CCSN a confirmé qu'ARLANXEO Canada Inc. s'était conformée à toutes les modalités de l'ordre délivré le 20 mars 2018. Les mesures correctives mises en œuvre par l'entreprise ont été examinées et jugées satisfaisantes par le personnel de la CCSN.

Le 23 avril 2018, la CCSN a également imposé une sanction administrative pécuniaire de 7 930 $ à ARLANXEA Canada Inc. Le titulaire de permis a contrevenu à une condition de son permis, soit la condition 2052-3 concernant l'entrée dans une cuve, en violation à l'alinéa 48c) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires.

Dernière mise à jour :