Regulatory action – 42256 Yukon Inc.

Under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and associated regulations, various levels of regulatory action can be taken by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment. 

2017

September 11, 2017

Order issued to 42256 Yukon Inc.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) issued an order to 42256 Yukon Inc., a company based in Whitehorse, Yukon that offers geotechnical, environmental, civil and materials engineering services. The company currently holds a CNSC licence authorizing the possession, transfer, use and storage of portable nuclear gauges for the purposes of measuring compaction and moisture content in materials.

The order was issued following a CNSC inspection at the company’s Whitehorse location. The inspection identified that the radiation protection program was not being managed in compliance with regulatory requirements. The inspection also found that workers had not received training in accordance with the company’s policies and procedures.

The order requires the licensee to immediately stop working with portable nuclear gauges. The licensee is also required to return these devices to storage until it can demonstrate, to the CNSC’s satisfaction, that it has taken adequate measures to ensure effective management control over the radiation protection program, and that all items of non-compliance identified in the inspection report have been corrected.

The CNSC requires these measures to protect the health and safety of workers, the public and the environment.

Mesure réglementaire – 42256 Yukon inc.

En vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et règlements, divers niveaux d'action réglementaire peuvent être pris par la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, et de protéger l'environnement.

2017

11 septembre 2017

Ordre délivré à 42256 Yukon inc.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a délivré un ordre à 42256 Yukon inc., une entreprise établie à Whitehorse (Yukon) qui offre des services de génie géotechnique, environnemental, civil et des matériaux. L’entreprise est titulaire d’un permis de la CCSN l’autorisant à posséder, à transférer, à utiliser et à entreposer des jauges nucléaires portatives pour mesurer la compaction et la teneur en humidité des matériaux.

L’ordre a été délivré à la suite d’une inspection effectuée par la CCSN à l’installation de l’entreprise à Whitehorse. L’inspection a permis de déterminer que le programme de radioprotection n’était pas géré conformément aux exigences réglementaires. Il a également été constaté que des travailleurs n’avaient pas reçu de formation conforme aux procédures et aux politiques de l’entreprise.

L’ordre exige que le titulaire de permis cesse immédiatement de travailler avec des jauges nucléaires portatives. Le titulaire de permis doit également remettre ces appareils en stockage sûr jusqu’à ce qu’il puisse démontrer, à la satisfaction de la CCSN, qu’il a pris les mesures voulues pour veiller au contrôle efficace de la gestion du programme de radioprotection et que tous les éléments de non-conformité relevés dans le rapport d’inspection ont été corrigés.

La CCSN exige que ces mesures soient prises afin de préserver la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public, et de protéger l’environnement.