Request for Information on Potential Impacts of Draft REGDOC-2.12.3, Security of Nuclear Substances: Sealed Sources and Category I, II and III Nuclear Material, Version 2

1. Preface

Acknowledging the draft nature of this document, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is seeking a preliminary assessment of the potential impacts of Part B of draft regulatory document REGDOC-2.12.3, Security of Nuclear Substances: Sealed Sources and Category I, II and III Nuclear Material, Version 2, should it receive Commission approval. The CNSC welcomes comments on this document as well as on the proposed regulatory document itself.

Comments may include additional information on potential impacts should the regulatory document be approved by the Commission and subsequently implemented. The CNSC encourages any stakeholders who decide to submit impact estimates to clearly state assumptions and provide enough detail to allow an independent observer to understand how the estimate was derived. Stakeholders may also propose potential alternative approaches that meet the document's safety objectives.

The CNSC will consider comments received. Comments will be included in the main regulatory document disposition table and may lead to modifications to REGDOC-2.12.3, Version 2.

In fulfilling its mandate as a federal regulator, the CNSC must also consider values and principles that are difficult to quantify with a dollar value. It must also give consideration to fulfilling its responsibility under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act to disseminate objective scientific and regulatory information. In all cases, safety is the CNSC's top priority.

All comments received will become part of the public record.

2. Background

REGDOC-2.12.3, Security of Nuclear Substances: Sealed Sources, version 1, published in 2013, has been revised as a two-part document with a new title: REGDOC-2.12.3, Security of Nuclear Substances: Sealed Sources and Category I, II and III Nuclear Material, Version 2

Part A of REGDOC-2.12.3, Version 2 contains information published in May 2013 and applies to sealed sources. The information in Part A has not changed from the currently published document. As this part has already been consulted on and approved by the Commission, consultation on this part is now closed.

Part B contains the revised content from two CNSC guidance documents: G-208, Transportation Security Plans for Category I, II or III Nuclear Material and G-274, Security Programs for Category I or II Nuclear Material or Certain Nuclear Facilities. G-208 provides guidance for applicants to prepare a written transportation security plan with respect to a licence to transport Category I, II or III nuclear material. G-274 provides guidance to help applicants prepare and submit the security information to be included with an application for a licence in respect of Category I or II nuclear material or a nuclear facility. At this time, the CNSC is seeking comments on Part B alone.

3. Objectives

G-208 and G-274 have been merged into REGDOC-2.12.3, Version 2 as part of the CNSC's commitment to modernize its regulatory document framework.

4. Regulatory approach

G-208 and G-274 were for guidance and information purposes. The revised draft REGDOC-2.12.3, Version 2 contains no new requirements, but provides expanded guidance to help applicants prepare and submit the security information to be included with an application for a licence in respect of Category I or II nuclear material or a nuclear facility.

5. Potential impacts

The CNSC welcomes stakeholder comments on the potential impacts of Part B of REGDOC-2.12.3, Version 2 should the draft regulatory document be approved. Stakeholders may consider these potential impacts in terms of costs, operations or other factors.

6. Feedback requested

Please submit comments or feedback to the CNSC by August 3, 2018 in one of the following ways:

  • Email: cnsc.consultation.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Mail: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
    P.O. Box 1046, Station B
    280 Slater Street
    Ottawa, ON  K1P 5S9
  • Fax: 613-995-5086
Date modified:

Demande d'information sur les incidences potentielles du projet de REGDOC 2.12.3, La sécurité des substances nucléaires : sources scellées et matières nucléaires de catégories I, II et III, version 2

1. Préface

Reconnaissant la nature provisoire du document, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) sollicite une évaluation préliminaire des incidences potentielles de la partie B du projet de document d'application de la réglementation REGDOC-2.12.3, La sécurité des substances nucléaires : sources scellées et matières nucléaires de catégories I, II et III, version 2, dans le cas où ce document serait approuvé par la Commission. La CCSN invite les personnes à faire part de leurs commentaires sur le présent document ainsi que sur le document d'application de la réglementation en tant que tel.

Les commentaires pourraient inclure des renseignements supplémentaires sur les incidences potentielles que pourrait avoir le document d'application de la réglementation s'il était approuvé par la Commission et mis en œuvre. Si les parties intéressées décident de soumettre une estimation des incidences, la CCSN les encourage à énoncer clairement les hypothèses utilisées et à fournir suffisamment de détails pour permettre à un observateur indépendant de comprendre la façon dont les estimations ont été calculées. Les parties intéressées peuvent également proposer des solutions de rechange potentielles qui respectent les objectifs de sûreté du document.

La CCSN tiendra compte des commentaires reçus. Les commentaires seront inclus dans le tableau principal de réponse aux commentaires du REGDOC et pourraient mener à des modifications du REGDOC-2.13.2, version 2.

Pour s'acquitter de son mandat à titre d'organisme de réglementation fédéral,la CCSN doit tenir compte de valeurs et de principes qui sont difficiles à quantifier monétairement. De plus, elle doit tenir compte du besoin de s'acquitter de sa responsabilité, stipulée en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, qui consiste à diffuser des renseignements scientifiques et réglementaires objectifs. Dans tous les cas, la sûreté est la principale priorité de la CCSN.

Tous les commentaires reçus seront versés au dossier public.

2. Contexte

Le REGDOC-2.12.3, La sécurité des substances nucléaires : sources scellées, version 1, publié en 2013, a été révisé et séparé en deux parties avec un nouveau titre : REGDOC-2.12.3, La sécurité des substances nucléaires : sources scellées et matières nucléaires de catégories I, II et III, version 2.

La partie A du REGDOC-2.12.3, version 2, contient les renseignements publiés en mai 2013 et s'applique aux sources scellées. L'information de la partie A n'a pas été modifiée. Comme cette partie a déjà fait l'objet de consultations et qu'elle a été approuvée par la Commission, les consultations sur cette partie sont maintenant terminées.

La partie B contient le contenu révisé de deux documents d'orientation de la CCSN G-208, Les plans de sécurité pour le transport des matières nucléaires de catégorie I, II ou III, et G-274, Les programmes de sécurité pour les matières nucléaires de catégorie I ou II ou pour certaines installations nucléaires.Le document G-208 fournit de l'orientation aux demandeurs pour l'élaboration d'un plan écrit de sécurité du transport à l'égard d'un permis de transport de matières nucléaires de catégorie I, II ou III. Le document G-274 fournit de l'orientation pour aider les demandeurs à préparer et à soumettre les renseignements sur la sécurité qui doivent accompagner une demande de permis visant les matières nucléaires de catégorie I ou II ou une installation nucléaire. À cette étape-ci, la CCSN sollicite des commentaires sur la partie B seulement.

3. Objectifs

Les documents G-208 et G-274 ont été fusionnés dans le REGDOC-2.12.3, version 2, conformément à l'engagement de la CCSN de moderniser son cadre des documents d'application de la réglementation.

4. Approche réglementaire

Les documents G-208 et G-274 avaient été publiés à titre d'information et d'orientation. La version révisée du projet de REGDOC-2.12.3, version 2, ne contient aucune nouvelle exigence, mais fournit davantage d'orientation afin d'aider les demandeurs à préparer et à soumettre les renseignements en matière de sécurité qui doivent accompagner une demande de permis visant des matières nucléaires de catégorie I ou II ou une installation nucléaire. 

5. Incidences potentielles

La CCSN sollicite les commentaires des parties intéressées sur les incidences potentielles de la partie B du REGDOC-2.12.3, version 2, dans le cas où le projet de document serait approuvé. Les parties intéressées peuvent envisager ces incidences possibles en termes de coûts, d'activités ou d'autres facteurs.

6. Demande de rétroaction

Veuillez soumettre vos commentaires ou votre rétroaction à la CCSN d'ici le 3 août 2018, de l'une des manières suivantes :

  • Courriel : cnsc.consultation.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Par courrier postal à :
    Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
    C. P. 1046, succursale B
    280, rue Slater
    Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 5S9
  • Téléc. : 613-995-5086
Dernière mise à jour :