History of discussion paper DIS-12-06, Proposal to Amend the Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations

View DIS-12-06 [HTML] [PDF]



Document history

  • November 2012: Consultation ended.
  • November 20, 2012: Period for providing feedback on the comments received has closed.
  • November 6, 2012 to November 20, 2012: Invitation to provide feedback on the comments received during consultation is open for 10 business days. View comments received during consultation and invitation to provide feedback on these comments. Note that the comments are posted in the language in which they were received.
  • October 22, 2012: Consultation has ended
  • August 23 to October 22, 2012: Consultation. An invitation to comment on the document is posted on the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission website for a 60-day period. Read the consultation version of the document, along with Information Bulletin 12–40, for further details.

Document description

This discussion paper presents proposed amendments to the Packaging and Transport of Nuclear Substances Regulations (PTNSR) to update the regulations to reflect changes to international standards for the safe transport of radioactive materials which are detailed in a document published by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA): TS-R-1 Regulations for the Safe Transport of Radioactive Materials.

Currently, the CNSC's PTNSR refer to the 1996 edition of TS-R-1, revised in 2000. The IAEA published a 2009 edition and is in the final stages of publishing a 2012 edition. To ensure Canadian requirements continue to be aligned with current international standards, the PTNSR need to be amended. The 2009 edition is currently being used in many countries and incorporated in regulations for international transport by air and by sea. The 2009 edition contains numerous changes from the 2000 edition, but most are minor in nature, related to the organization of the information.

Additional changes are being considered to address specific transportation issues and to harmonize the PTNSR with the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations.

Further Information

For questions or information directly related to DIS-12-06, please contact:

Regulatory Policy Directorate
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
P. O. Box 1046, Station B
Ottawa, ON K1P 5S9
Telephone: 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (Canada only)
Fax: 613-995-5086
Email: consultation@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca

Historique du document de travail DIS-12-06, Modifications proposées au Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires

Accéder au DIS-12-06 [HTML] [PDF]

Étape

Terminé.

Historique du document

  • Novembre 2012 : Fin de la consultation.
  • Le 20 novembre 2012 : Fin de la période pour faire part de vos observations sur les commentaires reçus.
  • Le 6 novembre au 20 novembre 2012 : Invitation à formuler des observations sur les commentaires reçus au cours de la période de consultation pour une période de 10 jours ouvrables. Voir les commentaires provenant de la période de consultation et l'invitation à commenter pour plus de renseignements. Veuillez noter que les commentaires sont affichés dans leur langue d'origine à la réception.
  • Le 22 octobre 2012 : La période de consultation a pris fin.
  • Du 23 août au 22 octobre 2012 : Consultation. Invitation à commenter le document qui a été affiché sur le site Web de la CCSN pendant 60 jours.  Consultez la version de consultation du document, ainsi que le Bulletin d'information 12-40 pour obtenir plus d'information.

Description du document

Ce document de travail présente les modifications proposées au Règlement sur l'emballage et le transport des substances nucléaires (RETSN) afin de tenir compte des changements apportés à la réglementation internationale sur le transport sécuritaire des substances radioactives [dont il est question en détail dans le document TS-R-1, Règlement de transport des matières radioactives publié par l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIEA)].

Le RETSN actuel de la CCSN se fonde sur l'édition de 1996 du TS-R-1, révisée en 2000. L'AIEA a depuis publié une édition en 2009, et finalise actuellement la publication d'une édition pour 2012. Par conséquent, pour assurer l'harmonisation des exigences canadiennes aux normes internationales actuelles, le RETSN a besoin d'être modifié. L'édition de 2009 est actuellement utilisée dans de nombreux pays et intégrée dans la réglementation du transport aérien et maritime international. L'édition de 2009 contient de nombreux changements de l'édition publiée en 2000, pour la plupart mineurs et liés à l'organisation de l'information.

D'autres changements sont envisagés pour aborder les questions propres au transport et pour harmoniser le RETSN au transport des marchandises dangereuses.

Pour plus d'information

Pour toute question ou demande d'information ayant trait au document DIS-12-06, communiquez avec :

Direction de la politique de réglementation
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
C. P. 1046, Succursale B
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 5S9
Téléphone : 613-995-5894 ou 1-800-668-5284 (Canada seulement)
Télécopieur : 613-995-5086
Courriel : consultation@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca