What We Heard Report – DIS-15-01

DIS-15-01: Proposal to Amend the Nuclear Non-proliferation Import and Export Control Regulations

Preamble

Discussion papers play an important role in the selection and development of the regulatory framework and regulatory program of the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC). They are used to solicit early public feedback on CNSC policies or approaches.

The use of discussion papers early in the regulatory process underlines the CNSC’s commitment to a transparent consultation process. The CNSC analyzes and considers preliminary feedback when determining the type and nature of requirements and guidance to issue.

Introduction

The CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment, and to implement Canada's international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy. The Nuclear Non-proliferation Import and Export Control Regulations (NNIECR) play an important role in achieving this goal. The NNIECR provide for the regulatory control of imports and exports of nuclear and nuclear-related dual-use substances, equipment and technology deemed to be of proliferation significance. The schedule of items controlled under the NNIECR is derived principally from lists agreed by the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG).

DIS-15-01: Proposal to Amend the Nuclear Non-proliferation Import and Export Control Regulations describes the CNSC's proposals to amend the NNIECR. These amendments would harmonize the NNIECR with updated NSG guidelines, where appropriate. DIS-15-01 also outlines additional proposed changes to the NNIECR and a change to section 18 of the General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations (GNSCR) to clarify certain entries, reduce regulatory burden for items deemed to be of low proliferation significance, and require additional information to be submitted to the CNSC, for use in assessing applications and licensee compliance.

Consultation process

The CNSC posted DIS-15-01 for public comment from March 4, 2015 until July 2, 2015. Stakeholders were informed and invited to comment though a number of mechanisms, including announcements in the “Latest News” and “What’s New” sections of the CNSC website. In addition, an email was sent to the CNSC’s subscribers’ list alerting recipients that this document had been posted.

On July 20, 2015 the CNSC posted comments it received on its website, and issued an invitation to provide feedback on the comments until August 10, 2015. No additional comments were received.

Summary of stakeholder comments

The CNSC received feedback from ten organizations in response to DIS-15-01. A summary of comments received follows.

Overall, feedback received indicated support for maintaining international alignment with our nuclear import and export controls.

The addition of explanatory and introductory notes was supported.

Stakeholders expressed some confusion as to why the NNIECR overlaps with the Group 3: Nuclear Non-Proliferation List and Group 4: Nuclear-Related Dual-Use List in the Export Control List (ECL), which is included in A Guide to Canada's Export Controls administered by Global Affairs Canada. The ECL includes not only nuclear and nuclear-related dual-use items, but also other military and strategic goods. To address the overlap in Groups 3 and 4 of the ECL, Global Affairs Canada's General Export Permits (GEP) No. 43 and 44 were introduced on May 3, 2012. As a result of these regulations, exporters are not required to obtain an individual export permit from Global Affairs Canada when exporting eligible goods and technology to eligible destinations, but rather only require an export licence from the CNSC. The application of these GEPs has streamlined the regulatory authorization process, but is not intended to eliminate any overlap that exists in controls under the two sets of legislation.

Stakeholders were very supportive of the proposal to amend section 18 of the GNSCR. In response to some requests for clarification, the CNSC confirms that the intention is to eliminate the need to present the import or export licence to a customs officer for both tangible and intangible transfers of prescribed information.

Interest was expressed in having better alignment with foreign countries. For example, when nuclear material is exported from Canada, an export permit is needed from Canada, and an import permit must be obtained from the destination country. Stakeholders expressed an interest in having internationally aligned processes so that only one permit application would be needed. That is not considered feasible within the scope of this regulatory amendment project. That said, basing controls on the NSG Guidelines and Control Lists provides for international harmonization.

The CNSC is no longer planning to add the name of the anticipated place of entry or exit in 3(1)(i). Feedback indicated that it may be difficult to provide this information as some stakeholders use a transportation company, and don’t directly manage the transportation of imports or exports.

Stakeholders supported proposed exemptions to schedule entries, particularly the import of nuclear grade graphite not used in a reactor – as well as tritium contained in various articles and devices for illumination purposes. Stakeholders also suggested the exemption of tritium should be extended to all signs containing tritium, not just those that were installed in aircraft, ships or vehicles (conveyances).

The proposal for the provision of an applicant’s written procedures to ensure compliance with import and export regulatory requirements was generally supported by larger stakeholders with well-established processes. It was noted that this may be an increase in regulatory burden for smaller licensees. Some stakeholders were hesitant to submit their written procedures, as they viewed them as confidential and proprietary. The CNSC would like to highlight that proprietary or confidential submissions are not publicly shared. For smaller licensees, the Government of Canada’s Cabinet Directive on Regulatory Management requires regulators to apply a “small business lens” to new regulatory proposals. The CNSC will address this as required.

The CNSC proposal to add a requirement that would specify a six-year record retention period (versus the GNSCR default of one year) was supported – but a desire was expressed to align record retention requirements across CNSC regulations and documentation. The CNSC would like to highlight that the six-year timeframe was selected to align with the requirements of the ECL and with Canada Border Services Agency’s Exporters’ and Producers’ Records Regulations and Imported Goods Records Regulations. The CNSC’s Regulatory Modernization Project will also look at ways to ensure better alignment across its regulations.

Several requests for clarity of terms were noted – including:

  • intangible technology transfer
  • prescribed information in the GNSCR versus controlled nuclear information in the NNIECR
  • prescribed equipment in the GNSCR versus controlled nuclear substances and controlled nuclear equipment in the NNIECR
  • What exactly is a part of controlled nuclear equipment

All requests for clarity will be considered as appropriate when implementing changes to the NNIECR.

Next steps

The CNSC plans to move forward with amendments to the NNIECR, taking into account the feedback received on DIS-15-01, which has contributed to an enhanced understanding of stakeholder needs.

DIS-15-01 is the first step in the public consultation process for the CNSC’s revisions to the NNIECR. Stakeholders will have further opportunities to comment on any proposed amendments when they are published in Canada Gazette, Part I.

Date modified:

Rapport sur ce que nous avons entendu – DIS-15-01

DIS-15-01 : Proposition de modifications au Règlement sur le contrôle de l’importation et de l’exportation aux fins de la non-prolifération nucléaire

Préambule

Les documents de travail jouent un rôle important dans la sélection et l’élaboration du cadre et du programme de réglementation de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN). Ils visent à obtenir une rétroaction du public tôt dans le processus relatif aux politiques et aux approches de la CCSN.

L’utilisation des documents de travail au début du processus de réglementation souligne l’engagement de la CCSN à l’égard d’un processus de consultation transparent. La CCSN analyse cette rétroaction préliminaire et en tient compte lorsqu’elle détermine le type et la nature des exigences et des orientations à établir.

Introduction

La CCSN réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité, de protéger l’environnement et de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire. Le Règlement sur le contrôle de l’importation et de l’exportation aux fins de la non‑prolifération nucléaire (RCIENPN) joue un rôle important dans l’atteinte de cet objectif. Le RCIENPN prévoit le contrôle réglementaire des importations et des exportations de substances, d’équipement et de technologies à caractère nucléaire et à double usage dans le secteur nucléaire constituant un risque sur le plan de la prolifération. L’annexe des articles contrôlés en vertu du RCIENPN est principalement tirée des listes convenues par le Groupe des fournisseurs nucléaires (GFN).

Le document DIS-15-01 : Proposition de modifications au Règlement sur le contrôle de l’importation et de l’exportation aux fins de la non-prolifération nucléaire décrit la proposition de la CCSN visant à modifier le RCIENPN. Ces modifications permettraient d’harmoniser le Règlement avec les dernières lignes directrices du GFN, le cas échéant. Le document DIS-15-01 décrit également d’autres changements proposés au RCIENPN ainsi qu’une modification à l’article 18 du Règlement général sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires (RGSRN) afin de préciser certaines rubriques et d’alléger le fardeau réglementaire pour les articles constituant un risque faible de prolifération ainsi que de fournir des renseignements supplémentaires à la CCSN pour l’aider à évaluer les demandes et la conformité des titulaires de permis.

Processus de consultation

La CCSN a publié le document DIS-15-01 dans le but de recueillir les commentaires du public du 4 mars au 2 juillet 2015. Les parties intéressées ont été invitées à formuler leurs commentaires par divers mécanismes, y compris des annonces dans les sections « Dernières nouvelles » et « Quoi de neuf » du site Web de la CCSN. En outre, un courriel a été envoyé aux abonnés de la liste d’envoi de la CCSN pour les informer de la mise en ligne du document.

Le 20 juillet 2015, la CCSN a diffusé les commentaires reçus sur son site Web et lancé une invitation à réagir à ces commentaires jusqu’au 10 août 2015. Aucun autre commentaire n’a été reçu.

Résumé des commentaires des parties intéressées

La CCSN a reçu des commentaires de dix organisations en réponse au document DIS-15-01. Vous en trouverez un résumé ci-après.

En général, les commentaires reçus appuient le maintien d’une harmonisation internationale avec nos contrôles des exportations et importations nucléaires.

On appuie également l’ajout de notes d’explication et d’introduction.

Les parties intéressées disent ne pas très bien comprendre pourquoi le RCIENPN chevauche le Groupe 3 – Liste de non-prolifération nucléaire et le Groupe 4 – Liste de marchandises à double usage dans le secteur nucléaire de la Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée (LMEC), qui fait partie du Guide des contrôles à l’exportation du Canada administré par Affaires mondiales Canada. La LMEC comprend non seulement des articles nucléaires et à double usage dans le secteur nucléaire, mais également du matériel militaire et d’autres marchandises stratégiques. Pour remédier au chevauchement des groupes 3 et 4 de la LMEC, Affaires mondiales Canada a introduit les licences générales d’exportation (LGE) no 43 et no 44, le 3 mai 2012. Depuis leur mise en place, les exportateurs n’ont pas besoin d’obtenir une licence d’exportation individuelle d’Affaires mondiales Canada pour exporter des marchandises et des technologies admissibles vers des destinations autorisées; il leur suffit maintenant d’obtenir un permis d’exportation de la CCSN. Le recours à ces LGE a simplifié le processus d’autorisation réglementaire, mais ne vise pas à éliminer le chevauchement des contrôles prévus dans les deux séries de textes législatifs.

Les parties intéressées se disent d’accord avec la proposition de modifier l’article 18 du RGSRN. En réponse à certaines demandes de précisions, la CCSN confirme que le but de cette modification est d’éliminer l’obligation de présenter le permis d’importation ou d’exportation à un agent des douanes pour des transferts, tangibles et intangibles, de renseignements prescrits.

Les parties intéressées souhaitent une meilleure harmonisation avec les pays étrangers. Par exemple, lorsque du matériel nucléaire est exporté depuis le Canada, un permis d’exportation du Canada est requis, et un permis d’importation doit être obtenu du pays de destination. Les parties intéressées se sont dites intéressées par un processus harmonisé à l’échelle internationale afin qu’elles n’aient qu’une seule demande de permis à présenter. Il ne sera pas possible de satisfaire à cette demande dans le cadre du présent projet de modification réglementaire. Cela dit, le fait que les contrôles reposent sur les lignes directrices du GFN et sur les listes des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée favorise une plus grande harmonisation à l’échelle internationale.

La CCSN ne compte plus ajouter le nom du lieu d’entrée ou de sortie prévu à l’alinéa 3(1)i). Les commentaires des parties intéressées indiquaient qu’il pourrait être difficile de fournir cette information car certaines d’entre elles font appel à une entreprise de transport et ne sont pas directement responsables du transport des articles importés ou exportés.

Les parties intéressées appuient les exemptions proposées aux rubriques de l’annexe, plus particulièrement en ce qui concerne l’importation de graphite de pureté nucléaire qui n’est pas destiné à être utilisé dans un réacteur nucléaire, ainsi que le tritium contenu dans divers articles et appareils aux fins d’éclairage. Les parties intéressées ajoutent que l’exemption du tritium devrait s’étendre à tous les signaux contenant du tritium, et non pas uniquement à ceux qui sont installés dans des aéronefs, des navires ou des véhicules (moyens de transport).

La proposition concernant le dépôt des procédures écrites du demandeur pour vérifier sa conformité aux exigences réglementaires en matière d’importation et d’exportation est généralement appuyée par les parties intéressées représentant des entreprises importantes, dont les procédures sont bien établies. On souligne cependant que cela pourrait alourdir le fardeau réglementaire des plus petits titulaires de permis. Certaines parties intéressées hésitent à soumettre leurs procédures écrites, qu’elles considèrent comme des renseignements confidentiels et exclusifs. La CCSN tient à souligner que les renseignements confidentiels ou exclusifs qui lui sont transmis ne sont pas rendus publics. Pour les plus petits titulaires de permis, la Directive du Cabinet sur la gestion de la réglementation du gouvernement du Canada oblige les organismes de réglementation à appliquer la « lentille des petites entreprises » aux propositions de nouveaux règlements. La CCSN abordera cette question, au besoin.

La proposition de la CCSN d’ajouter une exigence établissant une période de six ans pour la conservation des documents (même si le RGSRN précise un an) est appuyée par les parties intéressées, qui demandent du même souffle à ce que les exigences en matière de conservation des documents soient appliquées de manière uniforme à l’ensemble des règlements et de la documentation de la CCSN. La CCSN tient à mentionner que cette période de six ans a été retenue pour refléter les exigences de la LMEC, ainsi que celles du Règlement sur les documents de l’exportateur et du producteur et du Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l’importation de marchandises de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada. Le projet de modernisation des règlements de la CCSN vise également à trouver des façons d’assurer une meilleure harmonisation entre ses règlements.

Plusieurs demandes de précisions de la terminologie ont été soulevées, notamment sur ce qui suit :

  • les transferts de technologie intangibles
  • les renseignements prescrits dans le RGSRN par rapport aux renseignements nucléaires contrôlés en vertu du RCIENPN
  • l’équipement prescrit dans le RGSRN par rapport aux substances nucléaires et à l’équipement nucléaire contrôlés en vertu du RCIENPN
  • ce qui fait partie exactement d’un équipement nucléaire contrôlé

Toutes les demandes de précisions seront évaluées, en bonne et due forme, au moment d’apporter les changements au RCIENPN.

Prochaines étapes

La CCSN a l’intention d’aller de l’avant avec ces modifications au RCIENPN, en tenant compte des commentaires reçus sur le document DIS-15-01, qui ont aidé à mieux comprendre les besoins des parties intéressées.

Le document DIS-15-01 constitue la première étape du processus de consultation publique concernant les révisions au RCIENPN proposées par la CCSN. Les parties intéressées auront d’autres occasions de formuler des commentaires sur les modifications proposées lorsqu’elles seront publiées dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada.

Dernière mise à jour :