How to Apply

This section walks you through the application process.

To begin with, all candidates must create a profile on our career site in order to apply for a position at the CNSC. Here is a list of the steps you should take:

Create a profile

  • Use the My Profile button (above) to register as a new applicant
  • Complete your profile with your general information and résumé
  • Save your profile

Apply to job opportunities

  • From your profile, find the Job Opportunities button in the left navigation bar
  • Apply to opportunities at the bottom of each job posting

Set up a Career Alert

  • If there are no current opportunities that match your skills, set up a Career Alert for the job categories you are searching for
  • When a job match comes up, you will be notified by email

Submitting an application

Carefully review the instructions for submitting an application on the job poster. Failure to provide the requested documentation may result in your application being rejected from the process. You will not be solicited for incomplete or possible missing information.

Application tips

  • Do your research. Talk to people who are knowledgeable about the type of position you are applying for or to someone in a similar position or role.
  • Write or update your résumé. Be sure to include accomplishments that highlight the experience, knowledge and competencies that the job poster is asking for.
  • Write a cover letter. Pay attention to the information on the job poster, as this information may provide specific guidelines for your application.
  • Get a second (or third) opinion of your résumé and cover letter. Ask a friend or family member to proofread, review and provide feedback.
  • Apply in good time to avoid submitting your application late as a result of technical difficulties or a personal emergency.
  • Note that failure to provide the requested information may result in rejection of your application.

Please take note of the following important conditions and definitions before submitting your application:

Hiring conditions

Essential qualifications and hiring conditions must be met before an appointment is made. Asset qualifications and organizational needs may also be used for screening or to determine the right fit for the position.

Security: This security is a condition which must be met and maintained throughout employment and is a requirement for all positions. The level of security differs, and the definitions are as follows:

  • Reliability Status: This security clearance is a basic hiring condition and normally requires that you have five (5) years of verifiable personal background history. History that cannot be verified may be grounds for denial of clearance.
  • Site Access: This security clearance is a basic hiring condition and normally requires that you have five (5) years of verifiable personal background history. History that cannot be verified may be grounds for denial of clearance.
  • Secret or Top Secret: This security clearance is a basic hiring condition and normally requires that you have ten (10) years of verifiable personal background history. History that cannot be verified may be grounds for denial of clearance.

Operational needs

Mobility: All CNSC employees and managers are subject to the Mobility Directive and may be reassigned to a different position within the same location to address operational needs. In exceptional circumstances, CNSC scientific and technical staff may also be reassigned to a different geographical location to address operational needs. In addition, site supervisors should expect to be reassigned to another geographical location.

Designated Officer: Certain positions have been designated by the Commission as Designated Officer (DO) positions to carry out certain duties for the purposes of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act. The candidate selected will be issued a DO certificate before carrying out DO authorities and will be required to successfully complete the CNSC Designated Officer Training and Assistance Program.

Organizational needs

Employment equity: The CNSC is committed to building a skilled and diverse workforce reflective of Canadian society. As a result, it promotes employment equity and encourages candidates to voluntarily indicate on their application if they are members of a designated group (i.e. a woman, an Indigenous person, a person with a disability or a visible minority). Preference may be given to candidates who are members of a designated group to address identified underrepresentation, if applicable.

Job notes

Acting, assignment or term (under tenure): The intention is to hire for a specific duration and the duration may be extended according to operational needs. Should the need become permanent, the results of the process could also be used to staff a position on an indeterminate basis.

Possible non-imperative staffing (under language requirements): Certain positions are designated bilingual imperative. However in the event that none of the candidates meet the language requirements, candidates meeting all other essential qualifications could be considered for a bilingual non-imperative appointment. Language training would be provided to the candidate selected.

As the CNSC maintains a pool of candidates, the results of any staffing processes may be used to staff future positions with similar qualifications and various tenures.

Accommodation: The CNSC is committed to developing inclusive, barrier-free work environments. If contacted for an assessment, please advise the CNSC representative of any accommodation needs. Information will be kept confidential.

Assessment: Assessment methods used to evaluate candidates include, but are not limited to a structured interview, a review of work samples, a written test and reference checks. Visit the How to prepare page for more information.

Building a diversified workforce: Preference may be given to members of a designated group (i.e., a woman, an Indigenous person, a person with a disability or a visible minority) to address identified under-representation, if applicable. We encourage you to self-identify.

Relocation: Relocation assistance may be offered to external candidates.

Salaries and benefits: The CNSC offers competitive salaries as well as the federal government’s benefits and pension plan. Visit the Life at CNSC page for more information.

Definitions

Acting: Temporary assignment of an employee who is substantially performing the duties of a position at a higher level for a specified period, with a start and end date.

Assignment: The temporary movement of an employee within the organization to perform the duties of another position or to take on a special project. The employee continues to be paid against his or her substantive position.

Term: Status of an employee hired for a specified period with a start and end date.

Interchange: The temporary movement of an employee from another organization. The interchange program facilitates assignments of individuals in and out of the core public administration.

Imperative appointment: The language requirements of the position must be met at the time of appointment.

Non-imperative appointment: The position can be staffed with a person who agrees to become bilingual through language training.

Pre-employment medical evaluation: This evaluation is used to determine whether the applicant meets fitness requirements of the position and also establishes a baseline against which to compare future medical tests/examinations.

Nuclear energy worker (NEW): A nuclear energy worker (NEW) is defined in the Canadian Nuclear Safety and Control Act as:

"...a person who is required, in the course of the person’s business or occupation in connection with a nuclear substance or nuclear facility, to perform duties in such circumstances that there is a reasonable probability that the person may receive a dose of radiation that is greater than the prescribed limit for the general public." (1 mSv)

Recognized professional accounting designations: The recognized professional accounting designations are Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA), Chartered Accountant (CA), Certified Management Accountant (CMA), and Certified General Accountant (CGA).

Date modified:

Comment présenter sa candidature


La présente section donne un aperçu du processus d’embauche.

Tout d'abord, tous les candidats qui veulent postuler pour un poste à la CCSN doivent se créer un profil sur notre site consacré aux carrières. Voici une liste des étapes à suivre :

  1. Créer un profil
    • Utilisez le bouton Mon profil ci-dessus pour vous inscrire comme nouveau candidat
    • Remplissez votre profil en indiquant vos renseignements personnels et en incluant votre curriculum vitæ
    • Enregistrez votre profil
  2. Présenter une demande d'emploi
    • Dans votre profil, trouvez le bouton Perspectives d'emploi dans la barre de navigation de gauche.
    • Vous pouvez postuler au bas de chacune des offres d'emploi.
  3. Configurer une alerte d'emploi.
    • Si aucune offre d'emploi actuelle ne correspond à vos compétences, configurez une alerte d'emploi pour les catégories d'emploi qui vous intéressent
    • Lorsqu'une nouvelle offre correspondra à votre sélection, vous recevrez un avis par courriel

Soumission d’une candidature

Lisez attentivement les instructions pour soumettre une candidature sur l’annonce d’emploi. Si vous ne fournissez pas les documents demandés, votre candidature pourrait être rejetée. Vous ne serez pas sollicité pour des informations manquantes ou incomplètes.

Conseils pour présenter sa candidature

  • Faites vos recherches. Informez-vous auprès de gens qui connaissent ce type de poste ou qui occupent un poste ou des fonctions semblables.
  • Rédigez ou mettez à jour votre curriculum vitæ. Assurez-vous d'y indiquer vos réalisations qui mettent en évidence l'expérience, les connaissances et les capacités demandées dans l'annonce d'emploi. 
  • Rédigez une lettre de présentation. Portez une attention particulière aux renseignements indiqués dans les critères de présélection et de sélection de l'offre d'emploi, parce qu'ils peuvent contenir des consignes particulières pour votre lettre de présentation.
  • Demandez une deuxième (ou une troisième) opinion au sujet de votre curriculum vitæ et de votre lettre de présentation. Demandez à un ami ou à un membre de votre famille de relire votre travail et de vous donner son avis.
  • Envoyez votre demande d'emploi à l'avance pour éviter qu'elle arrive en retard en raison de problèmes techniques ou d'une urgence personnelle.

Veuillez noter les conditions et définitions importantes avant de soumettre votre candidature.

Conditions d’embauche

Les qualifications essentielles et les conditions d’embauche doivent être satisfaites pour que la personne retenue soit nommée au poste. Les qualifications constituant un atout et les besoins organisationnels peuvent aussi être utilisées dans le cadre du processus de présélection ou pour sélectionner la meilleure personne pour le poste.

Sécurité : La sécurité est une condition qui doit être respectée et maintenue tout au long des exigences d’emploi de tous les postes. Le niveau de sécurité diffère, et les définitions sont les suivantes

  • Cote de fiabilité : Cette cote de sécurité est une condition d’emploi essentielle qui nécessite normalement la vérification des antécédents personnels des cinq (5) dernières années; elle peut être refusée si les antécédents ne peuvent être vérifiés.
  • Autorisation d’accès aux sites : Cette cote de sécurité est une condition d’emploi essentielle qui nécessite normalement la vérification des antécédents personnels des cinq (5) dernières années; elle peut être refusée si les antécédents ne peuvent être vérifiés.
  • Cote de sécurité de niveau « Secret » ou « Très secret » : . Cette cote de sécurité est une condition d’emploi essentielle qui nécessite normalement la vérification des antécédents personnels des dix (10) dernières années; elle peut être refusée si les antécédents ne peuvent être vérifiés.

Besoins opérationnels

Mobilité : Tous les employés et les gestionnaires de la CCSN sont assujettis à la Directive sur la mobilité et pourraient être réaffectés à un poste différent dans le même lieu géographique pour répondre aux besoins opérationnels. Dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, le personnel scientifique et technique de la CCSN pourrait également être réaffecté à un lieu de travail géographique différent pour répondre aux besoins opérationnels. De plus, les superviseurs de site devraient s’attendre à être réaffectés à un lieu de travail géographique différent.

Fonctionnaire désigné : Certains postes ont été désignés par la Commission comme des postes de fonctionnaire désigné (FD) pour l’accomplissement de certaines tâches aux fins de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires. Le candidat ou la candidate retenu(e) recevra un certificat de FD avant qu’on lui attribue les pouvoirs de FD, et cette personne devra réussir le Programme de formation et d’aide pour les fonctionnaires désignés de la CCSN.

Remarques sur le poste

Nomination déterminée, intérimaire ou affectation (sous « durée des fonctions ») : L’intention est d’embaucher pour une durée déterminée, et la durée peut être prolongée en fonction des besoins opérationnels. Si le besoin devenait permanent, les résultats du processus pourraient également être utilisés pour pourvoir un poste pour une période indéterminée.

Possibilité d’une dotation non impérative (sous « exigences linguistiques ») : Certains postes sont désignés « bilingue impératif ». Cependant, si aucun des candidats ne satisfait aux exigences linguistiques, les candidats possédant toutes les autres qualifications essentielles pourraient être pris en compte pour une nomination non impérative. De la formation linguistique serait donnée à la candidate ou au candidat retenu(e).

Comme la CCSN conserve un répertoire de candidats, les résultats de tout processus pourraient servir à la dotation ultérieure de postes de différentes durées dont les qualifications exigées sont semblables.

Mesures d’adaptation : La CCSN s’engage à instaurer un milieu de travail inclusif et sans obstacles. Si l’on communique avec vous au sujet d’une évaluation, vous devez informer rapidement le représentant ou la représentante de la CCSN des mesures d’adaptation qui doivent être prises, le cas échéant. L’information reçue restera confidentielle

Évaluation : Les méthodes d’évaluation des candidats pourraient comprendre une entrevue dirigée, un examen d’échantillons de travail, un examen écrit et la vérification des références. Pour plus d’information, consultez la page Web Comment se préparer.

Bâtir un effectif diversifié : La préférence pourrait être accordée aux candidats qui sont membres d’un groupe visé par l’équité en matière d’emploi (c.-à-d. femmes, Autochtones, personnes handicapées ou membres d’une minorité visible) afin de remédier à la sous-représentation, le cas échéant. Nous vous encourageons à vous identifier volontairement.

Réinstallation : L’aide à la réinstallation pourrait être offerte aux candidats de l’extérieur.

Salaires et avantages sociaux : La CCSN offre des salaires concurrentiels ainsi que les mêmes avantages sociaux et le même régime de retraite que le gouvernement fédéral. Veuillez consulter La vie à la CCSN pour de plus amples informations.

Définitions

Affectation : Déplacement temporaire d’un employé au sein d’une organisation pour qu’il exerce les fonctions d’un autre poste ou qu’il réalise un projet spécial. L’employé continue d’être rémunéré aux conditions de son poste d’attache.

Échange : Un déplacement temporaire d’un employé de la CCSN vers un organisme extérieur ou un déplacement temporaire vers la CCSN d’une personne provenant d’un organisme extérieur. Le programme d’échange vise les organismes de l’administration publique centrale.

Nomination intérimaire : Situation dans laquelle un employé assume temporairement une part substantielle des fonctions d’un poste de niveau supérieur pour une période déterminée ayant une date de début et de fin.

Nomination déterminée : Situation d’un employé nommé pour une période déterminée ayant une date de début et une date de fin.

Titre comptable professionnel reconnu au Canada : Comptable professionnel agréé (CPA), comptable agréé (CA), comptable en management accrédité (CMA) ou comptable général accrédité (CGA).

Travailleur du secteur nucléaire : La Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires décrit un travailleur du secteur nucléaire comme suit : « une personne qui, du fait de sa profession ou de son occupation et des conditions dans lesquelles elle exerce ses activités, si celles-ci sont liées à une substance ou une installation nucléaire, risque vraisemblablement de recevoir une dose de rayonnement supérieure à la limite réglementaire fixée pour la population en général » (1 mSv).

Dernière mise à jour :