CNSC Departmental Audit Committee

On June 15, 2017, the CNSC President announced the appointment of the new Chair of the CNSC Departmental Audit Committee (DAC): Mr. Pierre Tremblay (biography below).

The DAC ensures that the president has independent and objective advice, as well as guidance and assurance on the adequacy of the CNSC’s control and accountability processes. The committee also reinforces the independence of internal audits. The DAC’s oversight responsibilities extend to the work of the CNSC’s Office of Audit and Ethics, as well as to areas and processes that include finances, values and ethics, risk management, management control and accountability reporting.

The DAC is composed of five members: three external members (appointed by the Treasury Board) and two internal members. Ms. Laura Talbot-Allan and Ms. Veena Rawat have been appointed for four-year terms, effective December 13, 2015. Former DAC Chair Jim Brophy’s term expired on December 12, 2016. Mr. Tremblay was appointed by the Treasury Board for a four-year term, effective May 4, 2017. The DAC also includes Commission Secretary Marc Leblanc and CNSC President Michael Binder.

DAC Members

Pierre Tremblay - Chair

Pierre Tremblay is a seasoned nuclear professional who has risen to the top ranks managing a major nuclear energy supplier in Canada. He began his 38-year career with Ontario Hydro (subsequently Ontario Power Generation – OPG) as a trainee engineer, quickly rising through the ranks and earning progressively responsible positions in the utility’s nuclear operations.

Mr. Tremblay has had direct responsibility for the operation and maintenance of the Pickering and Darlington nuclear generating stations, as well as three major nuclear waste facilities. He has dealt directly with the challenges of managing a workforce of several thousand employees, as well as the development and implementation of key functions including training, security, and interfacing with the CNSC, the Ontario Energy Board and other regulators.

As OPG’s Chief Nuclear Operating Officer, Mr. Tremblay was responsible for OPG’s participation in the World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO) and the operational and regulatory environment faced by the nuclear industry in other countries.

From 2011 until his departure from OPG in 2015, Mr. Tremblay was responsible for Canadian Nuclear Partners, the OPG subsidiary which markets the skills and expertise of the organization to domestic and international energy-industry customers.

Since his retirement from OPG, he has remained active in the nuclear sector and in education, as a strategic advisor to AECOM Canada, and as Board Chair for Durham College.

Mr. Tremblay holds a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from the Rotman Business School (major in finance), and earned a Bachelor of Science (Honours) in Chemical Engineering from Queen’s University. He is a licensed Professional Engineer and a member of the Canadian Nuclear Society and American Nuclear Society, among his many memberships and interests. In 2013, he was recognized as a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering for his contributions to the discipline.

Rumina Velshi

Marc Leblanc

Veena Rawat

Ms. Rawat has many years of experience providing advisory services to private and public organizations in the fields of science and technology, telecommunications, governance, organizational design, information and risk management. She is well known internationally for her knowledge and expertise in the areas of problem solving, communication, facilitation and negotiation skills. She sat on several advisory boards and chaired many professional and community-based organizations. She has received various international and national awards for her contributions to Canadian and international public administration, as well as to the scientific and telecommunications industry, including Officer of the Order of Canada from the Governor General of Canada in 2014. 

Her current activities include providing consulting services to the telecom industry. Recently, she worked as Vice-President and Ambassador to the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) of the United Nations (UN) for BlackBerry. Prior to that, Ms. Rawat was President of Communications Research Centre (CRC) Canada, managing a staff of 400 people with an annual budget of $50 million. As President, Ms. Rawat led the strategic vision and planning exercise for CRC and introduced initiatives to strengthen the areas of human resources, governance and risk management across the organization. She represented the CRC’s interests in the Canadian federal government’s senior-level committee of Assistant Deputy Ministers for Science and Technology and was a member of the Foreign Affairs Steering Committee to manage the Canada/India MOU for collaboration in the area of ICT. 

Ms. Rawat spent 36 years in Canada’s public service. She held executive positions managing programs including leading negotiations at the International telecommunication Union of the United Nations, the Organization of American States and the US Government. She chaired major national and international committees, and developed policies and regulations.

Ms Rawat has recently been appointed as member and chair of the Departmental Audit Committee for the Canadian Space Agency.

Laura Talbot-Allan

Ms. Talbot-Allan is a Fellow of the Chartered Professional Accountants (FCPA) and a Fellow of the Certified Management Accountants (FCMA) - Quebec, earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics and Economics from the University of Manitoba, plus a Master of Business Administration (MBA) - Finance from combined studies at the University of Ottawa and Manitoba. She has solid experience in regulatory and public policy issues in the financial, pension, telecommunication sectors, health and environment, in addition to a solid track record of contributing vision and strategic leadership. 

Ms. Talbot-Allan gained diverse and significant experience as Chief Operating Officer at the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission, Vice-President of External Relations at the University of Waterloo, Chief Financial Officer at Environment Canada, the Canadian Red Cross Society, and Bank One International, as well as other senior executive roles at several utility companies. 

Ms. Talbot-Allan is also a Certified Director with the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD.D). She has experience in the private, federal and provincial public sectors in the areas of governance, risk management, and public administration. She currently serves on the Boards and Committees of Desjardins Insurance, CPA Canada’s Pension & Investment Management, and since 1982 has served in various capacities on many industry, government, and volunteer boards. 

She is also Chair of the Departmental Audit Committee for Canada Border Service Agency. 

Date modified: